Appointments to the Independent Police Complaints Council

     The Chief Executive has re-appointed the incumbent chairman and two members as well as appointed two new members to the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) for a term of two years with effect from June 1, 2016, a Government spokesman announced today (May 27).

     Mr Larry Kwok Lam-kwong has been re-appointed as the chairman. The re-appointed members are Mr Clement Tao Kwok-lau and Mr John Yan Mang-yee. The new members are Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing and Mr Wilson Kwong Wing-tsuen.

     "We are most grateful for the invaluable contributions of the IPCC in ensuring a fair, effective and transparent two-tier police complaints handling system in Hong Kong. We trust that the IPCC would continue to discharge its statutory functions effectively and uphold the efficient operation of the police complaints handling system." the spokesman said.

     The IPCC, established under the IPCC Ordinance (Cap. 604), is an independent statutory body responsible for monitoring and reviewing the investigation of complaints against members of the Police Force. The IPCC Ordinance provides a statutory basis for the IPCC's role and power and the two-tier police complaints handling system. It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the Council's requirements.

     The appointment notice was published in the Government Gazette today.

Ends/Friday, May 27, 2016
Issued at HKT 10:30