Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Rural By-election to be held on Sunday

     The Home Affairs Department appeals to registered electors of the Shuen Wan Lei Uk Indigenous Inhabitant Representative Election to exercise their right to vote in the Rural By-election to be held this Sunday (May 29).

     Six Rural Representative vacancies are open in the by-election and seven valid nominations were received during the nomination period. There are three candidates running for an Indigenous Inhabitant Representative post of Shuen Wan Lei Uk of the Tai Po Rural Committee. Polling will be held for the village.

     Four candidates were returned uncontested to be the Indigenous Inhabitant Representatives of Chung Kwai Chung and Lung Kwu Tan and Resident Representatives of Ha Shan Kai Wat and Tsing Chuen Wai.

     No valid nomination was received for the Indigenous Inhabitant Representative vacancy of Sha Lo Tung Lei Uk.

     The list of valid nominations is as follows:

Village               Name
-------               ----
Indigenous Inhabitant Representatives:

Chung Kwai Chung      Fu Hong-tak (uncontested)
Lung Kwu Tan          Lau Ip-keung, Kenneth (uncontested)
Shuen Wan Lei Uk*     Li Tin-sung
                      Li Kwok-fai
                      Li Sun-chuen

Resident Representatives:

Ha Shan Kai Wat       Lam Lai-kin (uncontested)
Tsing Chuen Wai       To Ying-wan (uncontested)

(*Polling required)

     Polling will be held from noon to 7pm on May 29. Electors are required to bring their identity documents to the designated polling station as specified in the polling notice.

     There will be arrangements to facilitate remanded persons and detainees who are registered electors of Indigenous Village Shuen Wan Lei Uk to cast their votes in the by-election.

     Arrangements will be made for electors who are remanded or detained by law enforcement agencies (other than the Correctional Services Department) to cast their votes at the dedicated polling station located on G/F, Mei Tin Community Hall, 9 Mei Mun Lane, Tai Wai, Sha Tin, New Territories. The polling hours are from noon to 7pm.

     If necessary, reserved dedicated polling stations will also be set up in the 21 penal institutions for electors under the custody of the Correctional Services Department to cast their votes from 1pm to 4pm.

     For further information, please visit the Rural Representative Election website,, or call 2152 1521.

Ends/Thursday, May 26, 2016
Issued at HKT 11:31


Print this page