Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
NPCSC Chairman briefed on innovation and technology work (with photos/video)

    The Chairman of the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress, Mr Zhang Dejiang, accompanied by the Chief Executive, Mr C Y Leung, was briefed on Hong Kong's work on innovation and technology at the Hong Kong Science Park this afternoon (May 18).

    Following welcoming remarks by Mr Leung, the Secretary for Innovation and Technology, Mr Nicholas W Yang, introduced the city's development in entrepreneurship and innovation, the Government's policy on innovation and technology, the work of major innovation and technology support institutions, Hong KongˇVMainland co-operation and Hong Kong's role as a "super-connector".

    Mr Zhang was also briefed on the work of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong, the work of local universities in innovation and technology and examples of successful research outcomes, the work of the Partner State Key Laboratories in Hong Kong and the Hong Kong branches of the Chinese National Engineering Research Centres, and the co-operation between local research institutes and the industry.

    Afterwards, the founders of five local innovation and technology start-up companies which have excelled in different technology areas presented and demonstrated their products to Mr Zhang. The five start-up founders are Mr Rex Sham, who developed wildfire detection robots; Mr Xu Li, who is dedicated to developing original technologies in computer vision and deep learning; Professor Dennis Lo, a pioneer in genomics technology and inventor of non-invasive prenatal test technologies; Mr Alan Lee, who developed a multi-functional electronic wheelchair; and Professor Ronald Li, who developed bio-artificial human hearts that can be used for drug discovery and testing.

    During the visit, Mr Zhang discussed with the five entrepreneurs the development of innovation and technology industries in Hong Kong.

    Those attending the meeting included heads of six universities and 10 members of the Academy of Sciences of Hong Kong, as well as representatives of the major innovation and technology support organisations.

Ends/Wednesday, May 18, 2016
Issued at HKT 18:30


Photo Photo Photo Photo Photo
Print this page