Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Rehabilitation Advisory Committee announced

     The Government today (December 31) announced the appointment of the chairperson and six new members, as well as the re-appointment of the vice-chairperson and 12 incumbent members, to the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee (RAC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2016.

     The new chairperson, Mr Anthony Yeung Kwok-ki, is a certified public accountant and the chairman of a management consultancy company. The six new members are Ms Chan Wing-yan, Mr Leo Lam Cheung-wai, Ms Lau Lai-fong, Mr Willy Law Wai-cheung, Mr Eric Lee Sai-kit and Mrs Cynthia Luk Ho Kam-wan.

     Ms Chan is a designate Sham Shui Po District Council member. Mr Lam is the founding president of Hong Kong Rehabilitation Power. Ms Lau is the president of the Hong Kong Association of the Deaf. Mr Law is vice-chairman of the Direction Association for the Handicapped. Mr Lee is a businessman. Mrs Luk is the chief executive officer of St James' Settlement.

     The incumbent vice-chairperson, Dr James Joseph Lam, has been re-appointed. The 12 incumbent members re-appointed are Miss Amy Chan Lim-chee, Professor Eric Chen Yu-hai, Ms Cheng Yuk-chun, Mr Ho Siu-yu, Dr Edith Kwan Ngan-hing, Dr Raymond Leung Cheong-ming, Mr Li Fung-lok, Mr Lo Siu-kit, Mr Ng Po-keung, Professor Cecilia Tsang Wai-ping, Mr Wong Kam-pui and Mr Yau Wai-lok.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments. He said, "The RAC has been playing an instrumental role in the development of Hong Kong's rehabilitation policies and services. It also assists the Government in promoting and monitoring the implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (the Convention) in Hong Kong. I look forward to the RAC's continuous collaboration with the Government, the rehabilitation sector and various sectors of the community to further promote the spirit and core values enshrined in the Convention. I will also count on members' valuable advice on the further enhancement of our rehabilitation services."

     Mr Cheung also thanked outgoing chairperson Mr Herman Hui Chung-shing and members Mr Allen Chan Kam-yuen, Mr Lee Yuen-tai, Mrs Virginia Ma Lo Kam-wah, Ms Deborah Wan Lai-yau and Mr Yu Bun, for their active participation and valuable contributions during their tenure.

     The RAC was set up in 1977 to serve as the principal advisory body to the Government on the development and implementation of rehabilitation services and matters pertaining to the well-being of persons with disabilities in Hong Kong. With the application of the Convention to Hong Kong since August 31, 2008, the RAC also took on the role of assisting the Government in promoting and monitoring the implementation of the Convention in Hong Kong.

     Following is the membership list of the RAC from January 1, 2016:

Mr Anthony Yeung Kwok-ki

Dr James Joseph Lam

Miss Amy Chan Lim-chee
Ms Shirley Chan Suk-ling
Ms Chan Wing-yan
Professor Eric Chen Yu-hai
Dr Crystal Cheng Lai-ling
Ms Cheng Yuk-chun
Mr Ho Siu-yu
Dr Edith Kwan Ngan-hing
Mr Leo Lam Cheung-wai
Ms Elaine Lam Yee-li
Ms Lau Lai-fong
Mr Willy Law Wai-cheung
Mr Eric Lee Sai-kit
Dr Raymond Leung Cheong-ming
Dr Leung Nai-kong
Mr Li Fung-lok
Mr Lo Siu-kit
Mrs Cynthia Luk Ho Kam-wan
Ms Ng Fung-ching
Mr Ng Po-keung
Professor Cecilia Tsang Wai-ping
Mr Wong Kam-pui
Mr Yau Wai-lok
Dr Helena Yuen Chan Suk-yee

Ends/Thursday, December 31, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:22


Print this page