Appointments to Education Commission announced

     The Government today (December 30) announced the appointment of two members to the Education Commission (EC).

     The newly appointed member is the Chairman of the Subsidised Primary Schools Council, Mr Sin Kim-wai. An incumbent member, Ms Shum Siu-fong, has been re-appointed.

     The two members have been appointed in their personal capacity for a two-year term with effect from January 1, 2016.

     An Education Bureau spokesman said, "Given their rich experience in the education sector, we are confident that they will provide valuable advice and contribute to the work of the EC."

     The spokesman also thanked the outgoing member, Mr Langton Cheung Yung-pong, for his valuable contribution to the work of the EC.

     The new EC membership list, effective from January 1, 2016, is as follows:

Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung

Ex-officio members:
Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Marion Lai Chan Chi-kuen
Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Dr Carrie Willis
Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Kenneth Young
Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin
Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Mr Duffy Wong Chun-nam
Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Lester Garson Huang
Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Carlson Tong
Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Dr Clement Chen Cheng-jen

Non-official members:
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung
Dr Fung Wai-wah
Mr James Lam Yat-fung
Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming
Ms Ng Yin-kam
Ms Shum Siu-fong
Mr Sin Kim-wai
Mr Tang Fei
Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai
Dr Odalia Wong Ming-hung

Note: As the ex-officio Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung is also one of the ex-officio members.

Ends/Wednesday, December 30, 2015
Issued at HKT 15:02