Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Hong Kong and Argentine Republic sign agreement on mutual legal assistance in criminal matters (with photos)

     The Secretary for Security, Mr Lai Tung-kwok, and the Consul-General of the Argentine Republic, Mr Gustavo Horacio Luis Fazzari, signed a bilateral agreement on mutual legal assistance in criminal matters (MLA) at the Central Government Offices today (October 29) on behalf of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) and the Argentine Republic.

     "The signing of the agreement today marks an important step forward in our bilateral co-operation on criminal matters. It will be a useful addition to the network of similar agreements around the world," Mr Lai said at the signing ceremony.

     "The signing of this agreement also underlines Hong Kong's unique strengths under the 'one country, two systems' principle," he added.
     Under the Basic Law, the HKSAR may, with the authorisation of the Central People's Government, make appropriate arrangements with foreign states for reciprocal juridical assistance.

     The MLA Agreement with the Argentine Republic is the 31st agreement of its kind between the HKSAR and other jurisdictions.

The MLA Agreement

     The MLA Agreement with the Argentine Republic contains all the essential features and safeguards of international agreements of this type. Assistance covered by the Agreement includes:

(a) taking testimony or statements;

(b) providing documents, records, and articles of

(c) serving documents;

(d) locating or identifying persons;

(e) transferring persons for testimony and other
    assistance related to criminal matters;

(f) executing requests for search and seizure;

(g) immobilising assets;

(h) assisting in proceedings related to
    forfeiting the proceeds and instruments
    of criminal activities; and

(i) any other form of assistance not inconsistent
    with the law of the requested party.

     The other 30 jurisdictions that have already concluded MLA Agreements with the HKSAR are Australia, Belgium, Canada, Czech, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Switzerland, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Ukraine, the United Kingdom and the United States.

Ends/Thursday, October 29, 2015
Issued at HKT 16:00


Photo Photo
Print this page