Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Curriculum Development Council

     The Government today (August 28) announced the re-appointment of Professor Kenneth Young as Chairperson of the Curriculum Development Council (CDC) for a term of two years from September 1.  

     Also appointed to the CDC are 12 new members. They are Ir Eric Chan Sze-yuen, Ms Chung Po-loi, Ms Kwok Kam-lin, Mr Lau Kwok-leung, Mr David Leung Yiu-fai, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Dr Poon Po-chiu, Ms Grace Pow Kar-po, Mr Teddy Tang Chun-keung, Ms Wat Ka-man, Ms Ayse Wong Oi-sze and Ms Phyonne Wong.  
     In addition, nine serving members, Ms Chan Kar-mun, Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang, Professor John Lee Chi-kin, Mr Leung Yam-shing, Dr Pang Ming-fai, Mr Shum Kin-ming, Professor Tam Kar-yan, Mrs Anne Tam Leung Yen-ying and Dr Tsui Chun-cheung, have been re-appointed.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, said, "Over the past few years, under the effective leadership of Professor Young and the active participation of the CDC members, the senior secondary curriculum under the New Academic Structure (NAS) has been effectively implemented, the overall performance of secondary school graduates enhanced, and the NAS review smoothly conducted with recommendations on the curriculum, public assessment and other issues in collaboration with the Education Bureau (EDB) and the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA).

     "With profound experience in education and research, Professor Young will continue to steer the CDC and advise the Government on the improvement and continual renewal of the curriculum of kindergarten, primary and secondary school levels to keep abreast of the times, to better equip students for the future world and to further enhance Hong Kong's competitive edge."

     Mr Ng also thanked the outgoing members for their sterling service and contribution to curriculum development in Hong Kong. They are Mr Chan Tsze-ying, Professor Hau Kit-tai, Ms Hau Sze-man, Mr Ho Chu-ping, Mr Ben Ho Siu-yu, Mr Vincent Luk, Mr Gerry Ma Kwai-yung, Ms Helen Shi Mei-fong, Ms Enian Tsang, Ms Tso Mei-kuen, Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui and Ms Stella Yeung Po-wah.

     The CDC advises the Government on all matters relating to curriculum development of the local school system from pre-primary to senior secondary education.

     The full list of membership of the CDC with effect from September 1, 2015 is as follows:

Professor Kenneth Young     (Master of CW Chu College
                            and Professor of Physics
                            of the Chinese University
                            of Hong Kong)

Appointed members
Ms Chan Kar-mun             (Teacher of North Point
                            Methodist Church
Ir Eric Chan Sze-yuen       (Head of Products and
                            Services of Hutchison
                            Global Communications
Ms Chung Po-loi             (Teacher of Stewards Pooi
                            Kei Primary School)
Ms Nancy Ho Lan-sang        (Headmistress of PLK Li
                            Tsui Chung Sing Memorial
Ms Kwok Kam-lin             (Principal of Evangelize
                            China Fellowship Holy
                            Word School)
Mr Lau Kwok-leung           (Principal designate of
                            Chinese YMCA College)
Professor John Lee Chi-kin* (Vice President
                            (Academic) of the Hong
                            Kong Institute of
Mr Leung Yam-shing          (Deputy Executive
                            Director of Vocational
                            Training Council)
Mr David Leung Yiu-fai      (Head of Operations
                            Training of MTR
                            Corporation Limited)
Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho  (Vice President and
                            Chair Professor of
                            Comparative Policy of
                            Lingnan University)
Dr Pang Ming-fai            (Associate Professor of
                            Faculty of Education of
                            the University of Hong
Dr Poon Po-chiu             (Principal of Ju Ching
                            Chu Secondary School
                            (Yuen Long))
Ms Grace Pow Kar-po         (Vice-Principal of Good
                            Hope School (Secondary))
Mr Shum Kin-ming            (Vice-Principal of Mary
                            Rose School)
Professor Tam Kar-yan       (Associate Provost and
                            Dean of Students of the
                            Hong Kong University of
                            Science and Technology)
Mrs Anne Tam Leung Yen-ying* (Teacher of SKH Tsang
                            Shiu Tim Secondary
Mr Teddy Tang Chun-keung    (Principal of Hong Kong
                            Management Association
                            K S Lo College)
Dr Tsui Chun-cheung         (Headmaster of Tai Po
                            Old Market Public School
                            (Plover Cove))
Ms Wat Ka-man               (Teacher designate of
                            King's College Old Boys'
                            Association Primary
Ms Ayse Wong Oi-sze         (Vice-President of Human
                            Resources of Regal
                            Hotels International)
Ms Phyonne Wong             (Chairperson of Tsuen
                            Wan District Parent
                            Teacher Association
                            Federation Limited)

Ex-officio members

Principal Assistant Secretary (Curriculum Development) of the EDB, also as the Vice-chairperson of the CDC
The Chairperson of the HKEAA Council or his/her representative
Representative from other divisions of the EDB

Note:* The appointments will end on August 31, 2016

Ends/Friday, August 28, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:35


Print this page