Appointments to Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority

     The Government today (August 14) announced the re-appointment of Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin as the Chairman and Ms Ruth Shek Yuk-yu as the Deputy Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA). In addition, the Government appointed three new members and re-appointed two members to the HKEAA. The appointment details are as follows:

Re-appointment (for a term from September 1, 2015, to August 31, 2018)
Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin, Chairman, Pacific Falcon Investment Group Limited
Mr Johnny Tsang Wing-keung, Chief Executive Officer, Baptist Oi Kwan Social Service

Re-appointment (for a term from September 1, 2015, to August 31, 2016)
Ms Ruth Shek Yuk-yu, Principal, Ying Wa Girls' School
Dr Mak Chi-keung, Principal, Lok Sin Tong Young Ko Hsiao Lin Secondary School

New appointment (for a term from September 1, 2015, to August 31, 2018)
Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung, Principal, the Hong Kong Taoist Association Ching Chung Secondary School
Ms Monica Cheng Wai-yee, Vice Principal, Holy Trinity College
Mr Raymond Cheng Chung-ching, Managing Partner, HLB Hodgson Impey Cheng

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, said that the HKEAA is an important partner of the Education Bureau. The effective leadership and devotion of Mr Chen and the utmost dedication and professionalism of Ms Shek in the past three years have enabled the smooth and effective delivery of the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination and contributed greatly to the New Academic Structure Medium-term Review conducted in collaboration with the Education Bureau and the Curriculum Development Council.

     To sustain the expertise and dynamic governance of the HKEAA, Mr Ng looks forward to the continued leadership of Mr Chen and Ms Shek, and welcomes Mr Ng, Ms Cheng and Mr Cheng in serving as members of the HKEAA. He also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the three outgoing members, Mr Patrick Chan Kwok-wai, Dr Esther Ho Yuk-fan and Mr Daniel Wong Ip-cheung, for their valuable contributions during their service.

     The HKEAA is a statutory body established under the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Ordinance (Chapter 261) to conduct public examinations and other examinations or assessments approved by the Chief Executive. The composition of the Authority is stipulated in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance. Members of the Authority include school principals, teachers, representatives of tertiary institutions, a person who represents the interests of parents, and persons experienced in commerce, industry or a profession.

     Following is the membership list of the Authority with effect from September 1, 2015:

Appointed members:
Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin (Chairman)
Ms Ruth Shek Yuk-yu (Deputy Chairman)
Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung
Mr James Lam Yat-fung
Dr Mak Chi-keung
Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen
Ms Monica Cheng Wai-yee
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Mr Raymond Cheng Chung-ching
Mr Johnny Tsang Wing-keung
Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai

Ex-officio members:
Two persons nominated by the Heads of Universities Committee
The Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, or his/her representative
The Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council, or his/her representative
The Permanent Secretary for Education, or his/her representative
The Secretary General of the HKEAA

Ends/Friday, August 14, 2015
Issued at HKT 14:30