Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Betting and Lotteries Commission

     The Government today (July 31) announced appointments to the Betting and Lotteries Commission for the term from August 1, 2015, to July 31, 2017, pursuant to the Betting Duty Ordinance.

     The Chief Executive has appointed Mr David Fong Man-hung as the Chairman of the Commission. Four members have been re-appointed and six new members have been appointed. The non-official membership of the Commission is:

Mr David Fong Man-hung

Re-appointed Members
Ms Winnie Chiu Wing-kwan
Ms Viola Man Yee-wai
Dr Jennifer Ng Chui-yiu
Mr David Wong Chor-fung

Newly appointed Members
Mr Kenneth Fok Kai-kong
Reverend Ho Chi-dik
Ms Ho Yee-lin
Ms Lu Hai
Mrs Julie Ma Li Mun-wai
Ms Sania Yau Sau-wai

     The three public officers re-appointed to the Commission are the Commissioner of Police or representative, the Permanent Secretary for Education or representative, and the Director of Home Affairs or representative.

     "The Commission comprises a balanced composition of individuals from different fields, including the education, religion and social work sectors. We trust that the Commission can discharge its statutory functions effectively," a spokesman for the Home Affairs Bureau said.

     "We thank Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki, the Chairman of the Commission, and the six outgoing members, Reverend Chan Yut-wah, Dr Chiu Cheung-ki, Mr Stephen Yau How-boa, Dr Edwin Cheng Kwok-kit, Mr Lawrence Cheung Wai-kou, and Mr Adrian Yip Chun-to, for their contributions to the Commission," he added.

     According to the Betting Duty Ordinance, the function of the Commission is to advise the Secretary for Home Affairs on matters relating to:

(a) regulation of the conduct of horse race betting, football betting and lotteries;

(b) issuance and revocation of licences in respect of (a) above and the variation of the licensing conditions;

(c) compliance with the licensing conditions by the licensees and the handling of complaints that relate to non-compliance with the conditions of the licence; and

(d) imposition of financial penalties on the licensees.

Ends/Friday, July 31, 2015
Issued at HKT 15:02


Print this page