Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Education Commission announced

     The Government today (June 26) announced the appointment of four members to the Education Commission (EC).

     The newly appointed members are the Dean of the Faculty of Education at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming, and Associate Professor of the Department of Sociology at the Hong Kong Baptist University Dr Odalia Wong Ming-hung. Two incumbent members, Ms Ng Yin-kam and Mr Tang Fei, have been re-appointed.

     The four members have been appointed in their personal capacity for a two-year term with effect from July 1, 2015.

     An Education Bureau spokesman said, "Given their rich experience in the education and professional sectors, we are confident that they will provide insightful views to EC deliberation."

     The spokesman also thanked the outgoing members, Professor Lee Wing-on, Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo and Mr Wong Hak-lim, for their valuable contributions to the work of the EC.

     The new EC membership list with effect from July 1, 2015, is as follows:

Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung

Ex-officio members
Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Marion Lai Chan Chi-kuen
Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Dr Carrie Willis
Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Kenneth Young
Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin
Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Mr Duffy Wong Chun-nam
Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Mr Lester Garson Huang
Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun
Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Dr Clement Chen Cheng-jen

Non-official members
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung
Mr Langton Cheung Yung-pong
Mr James Lam Yat-fung
Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming
Ms Ng Yin-kam
Ms Shum Siu-fong
Mr Tang Fei
Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai
Dr Odalia Wong Ming-hung

Note: Being the ex-officio Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung is also one of the ex-officio members.

Ends/Friday, June 26, 2015
Issued at HKT 15:04


Print this page