Appointments to SCOLAR announced

     The Education Bureau today (June 10) announced the appointment of Mr Lester Garson Huang as Chairman of the Standing Committee on Language Education and Research (SCOLAR) for two years with effect from July 1, 2015.

     Mr Huang is a solicitor by profession and has been involved extensively in education matters in the past years. He has been a member of the Education Commission and the Council of the University of Hong Kong. He has also served on the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council and the Standing Committee on Legal Education and Training. He is currently an honorary member of the Court of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, said, "Mr Huang is well versed in education matters and enthusiastic about language education. With his professional background, he is able to provide views from different perspectives. We believe that Mr Huang would be well placed to lead SCOLAR to advise the Government on emerging issues in language education, for both students and working adults in Hong Kong."

     The Education Bureau also re-appointed eight serving members and appointed four new members to SCOLAR for two years.

     Mr Ng thanked the outgoing Chairman, Professor Cheng Kai-ming. "Professor Cheng has been a dedicated and committed Chairman of SCOLAR. He led SCOLAR to acquire a holistic view of the development of the language landscape in Hong Kong, which laid a solid foundation for the future development of language education. Under the able leadership of Professor Cheng, SCOLAR has provided invaluable professional advice and steering for implementing various initiatives to enhance Hong Kong people's language proficiency. Professor Cheng's dedication to the work of SCOLAR is very much appreciated," he said.

     Mr Ng also thanked the outgoing members, namely Professor Stephen Andrews, Professor Chan Shui-duen, Ms Jane Leung Chui-chun and Dr Anson Yang, for their sterling service and contributions to the work of SCOLAR.

     "The Government will continue to work closely with SCOLAR in gauging the views of different sectors of the community in our efforts to provide quality language education, enhance language proficiency and address the language needs of society and individuals," he said.

     The membership list of SCOLAR with effect from July 1, 2015, is as follows:

Mr Lester Garson Huang

Re-appointed members
Mr Patrick Chan Kwok-wai
Mrs Mimi Cunningham King Kong-sang
Ir Dr David Ho Chi-shing
Mr Tavier Lau Chi-kuen
Ms Gloria Leung Chi-kin
Mr Ma Ching-nam
Mr Raphael Tong Tai-wai
Mr Tsang Wing-keung

Newly appointed members
Dr Julia Chan Lai-chu
Ms Chan Shin-kwan
Professor Cecilia Chun Ka-wai
Dr Yuen Chun-wah

Ex-officio members
Deputy Secretary for Education
Chairperson of Curriculum Development Council's Committee on Chinese Language Education
Chairperson of Curriculum Development Council's Committee on English Language Education
Chairperson of Curriculum Development Council's Committee on Early Childhood Education
Chairperson of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals
Secretary-General of Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority or representative

     SCOLAR was set up in 1996 to advise the Government on language education and on the use of the Language Fund.

Ends/Wednesday, June 10, 2015
Issued at HKT 12:55