Appointment of SFC's non-executive director

     The Financial Secretary, Mr John C Tsang, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung, as a non-executive director of the Securities and Futures Commission (SFC). The appointment will take effect from May 26, 2015, for a term of two years.

     Announcing the appointment today (May 15), a Government spokesman said, "Mr Au is the Chairman of BDO Limited with extensive experience in the accounting field and public service. We believe that he will provide a valuable contribution to the work of the SFC.

     "We would also like to thank the outgoing non-executive director, Mr Wong Kai-man. During his service as a non-executive director of the SFC over the past six years, Mr Wong has provided invaluable advice to the SFC. We look forward to his continued support to the development of the financial services sector in Hong Kong."

     The SFC is chaired by Mr Carlson Tong. Other serving non-executive directors are Ms Teresa Ko Yuk-yin, Mr Lawrence Lee Kam-hung, Ms Ma Xuezheng, Dr William Wong Ming-fung, Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau and Professor Leonard Cheng Kwok-hon.

Ends/Friday, May 15, 2015
Issued at HKT 17:00