Appointment of new chairman to Education Commission

     The Government today (April 22) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung as the Chairman of the Education Commission (EC) for a term of two years from May 1, 2015 to April 30, 2017.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, welcomed the appointment of Mr Lui as the new chairman of the EC. He said, "Mr Lui has strong commitment in education and is currently the Chairman of Self-financing Post-secondary Education Fund Steering Committee and the ex-officio Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education. He has been an ex-officio member of the EC since January 1, 2013 and hence is familiar with its operation. He is also a member of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals and an ex-officio member of the University Grants Committee.

     "With his rich experience in educational affairs and public services, I am fully confident that Mr Lui will provide able leadership to the commission and offer invaluable advice to the Government on further enhancing the quality of education in Hong Kong."
     Mr Ng also thanked the outgoing chairman of the EC, Dr Moses Cheng. "We would like to express our heartfelt gratitude to Dr Cheng for his contribution to the EC. The Government has benefited from his insightful counsel in different domains of education, particularly the implementation of the New Academic Structure for Senior Secondary Education and Higher Education as well as further enhancing the quality of primary and kindergarten education," he said.

     The new membership list of the EC is as follows:

Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung

Ex-officio members:
Permanent Secretary for Education, Mrs Marion Lai Chan Chi-kuen
Chairman, Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals, Dr Carrie Willis
Chairman, Curriculum Development Council, Professor Kenneth Young
Chairman, Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council, Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin
Chairman, Quality Education Fund Steering Committee, Mr Duffy Wong Chun-nam
Chairman, Standing Committee on Language Education and Research, Professor Cheng Kai-ming
Chairman, University Grants Committee, Mr Edward Cheng Wai-sun
Chairman, Vocational Training Council, Dr Clement Chen Cheng-jen

Non-official members:
Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok
Ms Dilys Chau Suet-fung
Mr Langton Cheung Yung-pong
Mr James Lam Yat-fung
Professor Lee Wing-on
Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo
Ms Ng Yin-kam
Ms Shum Siu-fong
Mr Tang Fei
Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai
Mr Wong Hak-lim

Note: Being the ex-officio Chairman of the Committee on Self-financing Post-secondary Education, Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung is also one of the ex-officio members.

Ends/Wednesday, April 22, 2015
Issued at HKT 16:45