Advisory Committee on Innovation and Technology holds its first meeting

     The newly established Advisory Committee on Innovation and Technology held its first meeting today (April 15).

     The Advisory Committee discussed its mode of operation and focuses on the promotion of the innovation and technology (I&T) development in Hong Kong. The Advisory Committee plans to meet regularly. The discussion will cover a range of strategic areas including strategic social and economic goals, co-ordination and synergy among stakeholders, collaboration with the Mainland and other economies in I&T, means to attract I&T investments and development of the talent pool.

     Speaking after chairing the first meeting of the Advisory Committee today, the Advisor to the Chief Executive on Innovation and Technology, Mr Nicholas W Yang, said I&T could diversify the economy, provide wider employment opportunities, and enhance the competitiveness and growth of related industries. It is also crucial to the improvement of people's quality of living. There is a pressing need to take forward the development of I&T in Hong Kong.

     "The Advisory Committee will advise the Government on the strategic and developmental enhancements of I&T in Hong Kong, with a focus on making the best use of the advantages of 'One Country' and 'Two Systems' and further strengthening the co-ordination among the government, industry, academia and research sectors.

     "It was a very useful meeting as members, with their wide range of expertise, had a fruitful discussion and provided constructive views on the Advisory Committee's priority of efforts in developing recommendations for promoting I&T development in Hong Kong," Mr Yang said.

     The membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Advisor to the Chief Executive on Innovation and Technology
Mr Nicholas W Yang

Ex-officio Members
Chairman of the Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation
Mrs Fanny Law Fan Chiu-fun

Chairman of the Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited
Mr Wong Ming-yam

Chairman of the Hong Kong Productivity Council
Mr Clement Chen Cheng-jen

Chairman of the Research Grants Council
Professor Benjamin Wah Wan-sang

Non-official Members
Mr Johnny Chan Kok-chung
Professor Tony Chan Fan-cheong
Mr Chan Yik-hei
Professor Roland Chin Tai-hong
Professor Ching Pak-chung
Mr Paul Chow Man-yiu
Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping
Professor Horace Ip Ho-shing
Professor Nancy Ip Yuk-yu
Mrs Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee
Dr Humphrey Leung Kwong-wai
Dr Simon Leung Lim-kin
Mr Victor Lo Chung-wing
Mr Ma Siu-leung
Dr Elizabeth Quat
Professor Joseph Sung Jao-yiu
Professor Timothy Tong Wai-cheung
Mr Denis Tse Tik-yang
Mr Frank Wang Tao
Ir Dr Jolly Wong Chun-kau
Ms Marjorie Yang Mun-tak
Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing
Mr Joseph Yu Shin-gay

Official Members
Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology)
Commissioner for Innovation and Technology

Ends/Wednesday, April 15, 2015
Issued at HKT 18:02