Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Hong Kong Film Development Council

     The Government today (April 10) announced that the Chief Executive has appointed 18 non-official and two ex-officio members to the Hong Kong Film Development Council (HKFDC) for two years from April 1, 2015, to March 31, 2017.

     The 18 non-official members include 11 re-appointed members and seven new appointees. Mr Ma Fung-kwok has been re-appointed as the Chairman of the HKFDC and Dr Wilfred Wong Ying-wai the Vice-chairman. The Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology) will continue to be the ex-officio Vice-chairman of the HKFDC. The Executive Director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council or her representative is re-appointed as the other ex-officio member.

     The Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So, welcomed the new members to the HKFDC. He also expressed gratitude to the re-appointed and outgoing members for their invaluable contributions.  

     "I would like to thank members for their contributions in promoting the work of the HKFDC. With their dedicated effort, the HKFDC has made remarkable achievements in supporting film productions and nurturing film talent," said Mr So.  

     The new membership of the HKFDC is as follows:

Mr Ma Fung-kwok (Chairman) (re-appointed)
Dr Wilfred Wong Ying-wai (Vice-chairman) (re-appointed)
Mr Enoch Chan Chi-to
Professor Cheuk Pak-tong (re-appointed)
Ms Amy Chin Siu-wai
Mr John Chong Koon-nam (re-appointed)
Mr Chong Man-keung (re-appointed)
Mr Samuel Choy Chung-leung
Mr Chu Chung-on
Mr Percy Fung
Mr Jason Lam Kee-to (re-appointed)
Ms Connie Lam Suk-yee (re-appointed)
Mr Albert Lee (re-appointed)
Mr Maurice Lee Wai-man (re-appointed)
Ms Tsang Lai-fun (re-appointed)
Mr Patrick Tong Hing-chi
Ms June Wong Bo-chu (re-appointed)
Mr Adam Wong Sau-ping
Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Communications and Technology) (Vice-chairman) (ex-officio member)
Executive Director of Hong Kong Trade Development Council or her representative (ex-officio member)

     The biographies of the new members are as follows:

     Mr Enoch Chan Chi-to is a visual effects specialist in the film industry. He won the Best Visual Effects Award in the 33rd Hong Kong Film Awards in 2014 for his work in "Rigor Mortis".   

     Ms Amy Chin Siu-wai has over 30 years of experience in film productions. She has produced a number of popular films such as "All's Well, Ends Well 2012" and "The Midnight After".

     Mr Samuel Choy Chung-leung is the General Manager of Bliss Concepts Limited and was involved in the administrative work of the production of the popular animation series of "McMug" and "McDull".

     Mr Chu Chung-on is the co-founder of October Pictures Limited. He has been actively involved in international film productions and has arranged for a number of famous Hollywood productions, including "Lara Croft Tomb Raider: The Cradle of Life", "The Dark Knight", "Contagion" and "Transformers: Age of Extinction", to do their location shooting in Hong Kong.

     Mr Percy Fung is a pioneer in the local animation and visual effects industry. He is the Honorary President of the Hong Kong Association of Motion Picture Post Production Professionals.

     Mr Patrick Tong Hing-chi is a veteran film producer and a senior executive in the film industry. He is currently the Vice Chairman of Hong Kong Motion Picture Industry Association.

     Mr Adam Wong Sau-ping is a young film director. His recent work "The Way We Dance" was well-reviewed and won several significant awards.  

     The HKFDC was set up in 2007 as a non-statutory and advisory committee. Comprising mainly members of the film industry, the HKFDC gives advice to the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development on relevant policies and activities, including manpower training, Mainland and overseas promotion and film support.

Ends/Friday, April 10, 2015
Issued at HKT 10:40


Print this page