Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to new term of Council for Sustainable Development

     The Government today (February 16) announced appointments to the Council for Sustainable Development for a new two-year term starting from March 1, 2015.

     "The Council membership represents a balanced mix of stakeholders from different sectors of the community including the environmental, social services and business sectors. We will continue to work closely with the Council in promoting sustainable development in Hong Kong," a government spokesman said.

     The Council advises the Government on priority areas for promoting sustainable development that will integrate environmental, social and economic perspectives. It also seeks to encourage community participation and promote public awareness and understanding of the principles of sustainable development.

     "We are deeply grateful for the outgoing Chairman, Mr Bernard Charnwut Chan, and the membersíŽ invaluable contribution to the work of the Council in the past years," the spokesman added.

     The Council has implemented a number of stakeholder-led engagement processes to engage the community in active discussion of sustainability issues. The Council has also advised on the disbursement of the Sustainable Development Fund to support community projects aimed at raising public awareness of sustainable development.

     The membership for the new term is as follows:

Professor Arthur Li Kwok-cheung#

Professor John Chai Yat-chiu#
Dr Bunny Chan Chung-bun#
Dr Ian Chan Yau-nam
Dr Albert Chau Wai-lap#
Ms Betty Ho Siu-fong
Ms Angelina Kwan#
Mr Kwok Lit-tung#
Ir Alkin Kwong Ching-wai#
Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen
Mr Lau Kwok-fan#
Ms Lilian Law Suk-kwan
Professor Leung Wing-mo
Professor Bernard Lim Wan-fung
Mrs Sandra Mak Wong Siu-chun#
Dr Ng Cho-nam
Mr Daryl Ng Win-kong#
Professor Nora Tam Fung-yee
Mr Cliff Tang Wing-chun#
Dr Thomas Yau Chung-cheung#
Mr Eric Yeung Chuen-sing#
Secretary for Development*
Secretary for the Environment*
Secretary for Home Affairs*
Secretary for Transport and Housing*

# new member
* or Permanent Secretary

Ends/Monday, February 16, 2015
Issued at HKT 10:01


Print this page