Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform

     The Financial Secretary, Mr John C Tsang, has appointed four new members and re-appointed six incumbent members to the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR) for a term of two years starting from February 1, 2015.

     The newly appointed members are Mr Bruno Arboit, Ms Bonnie Chan Yiting, Professor John Lowry and Mr Keith Pogson.

     The re-appointed members are Professor David Donald, Ms Roxanne Ismail, Mr Rainier Lam Hok-chung, Mr Kenneth Ng Sing-yip, Ms Benita Yu Ka-po and Ms Wendy Yung Wen-yee.

     A government spokesman said, "The advice of the SCCLR is essential in making our company law commensurate with Hong Kong's status as an international commercial and financial centre. We look forward to the SCCLR's advice to the Government on further improvement to our company law for enhancing corporate governance and facilitating business.

     "We are grateful to the outgoing members, Mr Chew Fook-aun, Professor Goo Say-hak, Mr Johnson Kong Chi-how and Mrs Catherine Morley, for their valuable contributions to the SCCLR and the rewrite of the Companies Ordinance over the past six years," the spokesman added.

     The SCCLR was set up in 1984. It advises the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance, as well as amendments to the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders' protection, as and when necessary.

     Members of the SCCLR include practitioners from relevant professions including accountancy, legal and company secretarial fields as well as academics, individuals from the business communities and representatives from relevant government departments and financial regulators.

     As from February 1, 2015, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:

Mr John Scott (Chairman)
Mr Bruno Arboit
Mr Stephen Birkett
Ms Bonnie Chan Yiting
Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin
Professor David Donald
Ms Roxanne Ismail
Mr David Kidd
Mr Rainier Lam Hok-chung
Professor John Lowry
Dr Lewis Luk Tei
Mr Kenneth Ng Sing-yip
Mr Keith Pogson
Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau
Ms Benita Yu Ka-po
Ms Wendy Yung Wen-yee

Ex-officio Members

Mr David Graham
Chief Regulatory Officer
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited

Mr Stefan Gannon
General Counsel
Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Mr Andrew Young
Chief Counsel
Securities and Futures Commission

Ms Ada Chung Lai-ling
Registrar of Companies

Ms Teresa Wong Siu-wan
Official Receiver

Mr Patrick Ho Chung-kei
Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services)
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Mr Stefan Lo Huoy-cheng
Senior Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law)
Department of Justice

Ends/Friday, January 30, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:18


Print this page