Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Advisory Committee of the Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged announced

     The Government today (January 23) announced the appointment of four new members and the re-appointment of eight incumbent members to the Advisory Committee of the Partnership Fund for the Disadvantaged (the Fund) for a term of two years with effect from February 1, 2015.

     The four new members are Mr Raymond Lee Man-chun, Mr Lee Yuen-tai, Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai and Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin.

     Mr Raymond Lee Man-chun is the Chairman of Lee & Man Paper Manufacturing Limited. He is also a member of the Standing Committee of the Chinese General Chamber of Commerce.

     Mr Lee Yuen-tai is the Chairman of Direction Association for the Handicapped and a member of the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee.

     Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai is the Principal of the Buddhist Hung Sean Chau Memorial College. He is also a member of the Commission on Youth and the Grantham Scholarships Fund Committee.

     Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin is the Chief Operating Officer of the AS Watson Group and Vice Chairperson of the Hong Kong Sports Association for the Mentally Handicapped.

     Eight incumbent members, namely Ms Jasmine Chan Hoi-yan, Mr Ivan Ho Shiu-cheong, Ms Angelique Tam Chi-wah, Dr Ting Wai-fong, Mr Raymond Wong Ka-ning, Ms May Wong May-kwan, Mr Edward Wong Siu-lung and Mr Ivan Yiu Tze-leung, have been re-appointed.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, said he looked forward to the Advisory Committee's wise counsel on the development of the Fund and promotion of tripartite partnerships in Hong Kong. He also thanked the four outgoing members, Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee, Ms Anna Hung Wing-chee, Dr Wong Chung-kwong and Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki, for their support and contribution to the Fund.

     The Advisory Committee, chaired by the Director of Social Welfare, examines applications for the Fund and advises on matters relating to its operation.

     The $200 million fund was established in 2005 to promote the development of tripartite partnerships among the welfare community, the business sector and the Government to help the disadvantaged. In May 2010, additional funding of $200 million was injected into the Fund to encourage further cross-sector collaboration to help the disadvantaged. The Chief Executive announced in the 2014 Policy Address that an additional $400 million would be injected into the Fund, of which $200 million would be dedicated to launching more after-school learning and support programmes to facilitate the whole-person development of primary and secondary students from grassroots families.

     Following is the membership list of non-official members of the Advisory Committee with effect from February 1, 2015:

Ms Jasmine Chan Hoi-yan
Mr Ivan Ho Shiu-cheong
Mr Raymond Lee Man-chun
Mr Lee Yuen-tai
Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai
Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin
Ms Angelique Tam Chi-wah
Dr Ting Wai-fong
Mr Raymond Wong Ka-ning
Ms May Wong May-kwan
Mr Edward Wong Siu-lung
Mr Ivan Yiu Tze-leung

Ends/Friday, January 23, 2015
Issued at HKT 11:30


Print this page