Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointment to Women's Commission

     The Government today (January 2) announced the appointment of four new members to the Women's Commission (WoC) and re-appointment of the chairperson and nine incumbent members. All the appointments will take effect from January 15, 2015.

     Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen has been re-appointed as the chairperson for a term of three years until January 14, 2018. Mrs Lau had served the WoC for six years before taking up the chairmanship in January 2012. Under her leadership, the WoC has continued its dedicated efforts in advancing the development of women in Hong Kong, and has maintained close ties with women's groups and concerned stakeholders in promoting the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong.

     The four new members are Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan, Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting, Ms Wong Siu-wah and Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha.

     Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan is the head of the Department of Social Work and Social Administration at the University of Hong Kong. She is a well-known academic in the social welfare sector and has conducted various studies on women-related issues.

     Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting is a member of Wan Chai District Council. She is the advisor to the Hong Kong Island Women's Association. She is also a member of the Commission on Youth.

     Ms Wong Siu-wah is currently the honorary consultant to the Hong Kong Women Development Association. She is the founding chairperson and honorary president of the All-China Women's Federation Hong Kong Delegates Association Limited.

     Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha is the chief executive of the Hong Kong Young Women's Christian Association. She has rich experience in the social service sector. She is also an associate member of the Central Policy Unit.

     The nine incumbent members re-appointed are Ms Aruna Gurung, Dr Maggie Koong May-kay, Dr Trisha Leahy, Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan, Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung, Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee, Ms Catherine Wong Pui-yee, Mr Robert Wong Yao-wing and Ms Rabi Yim Chor-pik. The newly appointed and re-appointed members will serve for a term of two years.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments. He said, "Coming from a diverse background, the newly appointed and re-appointed members have vast experience in their professions and community services. Members from women's groups are also included. I look forward to their expert advice on the work of the WoC."

     He also thanked the four outgoing members, Ms Au Yeung Po-chun, Professor Lam Ching-man, Ms Lam Yuk-chun and Ms Constance Yue Mui-Ying, for their sterling contributions and dedication to the work of the WoC.

     The WoC was set up on January 15, 2001, as a central mechanism to promote the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong. It plays a strategic role in advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.

     Following is the membership list of the WoC with effect from January 15, 2015:

Non-official members
Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen (chairperson)
Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee
Professor Cecilia Chan Lai-wan
Ms Aruna Gurung
Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin
Dr Maggie Koong May-kay
Ms Angelina Kwan
Ms Leona Lam Wai-ling
Dr Trisha Leahy
Mrs Miranda Leung Chan Che-ming
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Ms Yolanda Ng Yuen-ting
Dr Lawrence Tang Chang-hung
Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung
Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee
Ms Catherine Wong Pui-yee
Ms Wong Shu-ming
Ms Wong Siu-wah
Mr Robert Wong Yao-wing
Ms Yvonne Yeung Kin-ha
Ms Rabi Yim Chor-pik

Ex-officio members
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson)
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative

Ends/Friday, January 2, 2015
Issued at HKT 14:30


Print this page