Re-appointments of lay members of HKICPA Council

     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan, has re-appointed Ms Melissa Brown and Mr Tam Wing-pong as lay members of the Council of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) for a term of two years.

     The re-appointments were made under the Professional Accountants Ordinance (Cap 50). The new term of Ms Brown and Mr Tam will commence next Monday (December 1) and expire on November 30, 2016.

     Announcing the re-appointments today (November 28), Professor Chan said, "The accountancy sector plays a pivotal role in Hong Kong's success as an international financial centre. We look forward to the continued contribution of Ms Brown and Mr Tam to the work of the HKICPA in regulating the accountancy profession and promoting its development."

     Under the Professional Accountants Ordinance, the HKICPA Council comprises a maximum of 23 persons, including four lay members appointed by the Chief Executive. The power of the Chief Executive to make appointments to the Council has been delegated to the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury.

     The other two incumbent lay members are Mr Andrew Fung Hau-chung and Mrs Natalia Seng Sze Ka-mee.

     The HKICPA is the statutory licensing body for accountants and currently has more than 37,000 members. It is responsible for matters such as the regulation and development of the profession, and the promulgation of financial reporting standards. The Council of the HKICPA is the governing body of the Institute.

Ends/Friday, November 28, 2014
Issued at HKT 16:01