Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Government officials to attend 18th Beijing-Hong Kong Economic Co-operation Symposium in Beijing

     The Chief Secretary for Administration, Mrs Carrie Lam, will  depart for Beijing on Monday (November 24) and lead a Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Government delegation to attend the 18th Beijing-Hong Kong Economic Co-operation Symposium on the following day (November 25).

     Members of the HKSAR Government delegation will include the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Professor K C Chan; the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So; and the Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Mr Raymond Tam.

     The delegation will attend the opening ceremony of the 18th Beijing-Hong Kong Economic Co-operation Symposium in the morning of November 25 and meet with senior officials of the Beijing Municipal Government. Professor Chan and Mr So will attend an exchange session at noon hosted by the Beijing Municipal Government. Professor Chan will also attend the Beijing-Hong Kong Financial Services Co-operation Forum and give a keynote speech in the afternoon.

     The Symposium will be held on November 25 and 26 in Beijing. Various thematic activities in four major areas, namely Innovation and Technology, Culture and Creativity, Headquarters Economy and Modern Service Industries, will be conducted to explore room for further co-operation between Beijing and Hong Kong.

     Mr So will depart for Seoul, Korea, in the evening of November 25. On November 26 he will sign, on behalf of the HKSAR Government, a Memorandum of Understanding on Co-operation in the Creative Industries with the Minister of Culture, Sports and Tourism of the Republic of Korea and return to Hong Kong on the same day.

     Mrs Lam and other members of the delegation will return to Hong Kong from Beijing on November 26. During her absence, the Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Tsang Tak-sing, will act as Chief Secretary for Administration. During the absence of the three Secretaries, their respective Under Secretaries will be the acting Directors of Bureaux.

Ends/Thursday, November 20, 2014
Issued at HKT 21:07


Print this page