Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
New Independent Police Complaints Council chairman appointed

     The Government today (May 30) announced the appointment of Mr Larry Kwok Lam-kwong as Chairman of the Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) and the re-appointments of Mr Lawrence Ma Yan-kwok, Mr Clement Tao Kwok-lau and Mr John Yan Mang-yee as members of the IPCC.

     The appointments are made by the Chief Executive under section 5 of the IPCC Ordinance (Cap. 604) for a term of two years from June 1, 2014 to May 31, 2016.  The appointments were published in today's Government Gazette.

     Mr Kwok is a senior practising solicitor with extensive experience in public services.  He is currently the Chairman of the Transport Advisory Committee as well as a Member of various Committees.  Mr Kwok will succeed the incumbent IPCC chairman Mr Jat Sew-tong, SC, whose term of appointment will end on May 31.

     "Mr Jat Sew-tong, the Chairman of the IPCC since June, 2008, has led IPCC for six years.  We are most grateful for his significant contributions to the smooth transition of IPCC into an independent statutory body and the perfection of the complaints scrutinising system of the IPCC during his term of chairmanship," a Government spokesman said.  "We have trust in the IPCC to continue its role of professional oversight and to maintain a fair and impartial police complaints handling system under the leadership of the new Chairman Mr Kwok."

     The IPCC has been an independent statutory body with the commencement of the IPCC Ordinance on June 1, 2009.  The Ordinance provides the IPCC with a legal basis to exercise its role and power and provides the two-tier police complaints handling system with a statutory basis.  It also imposes a statutory duty on the Police to comply with the Council's requirements.  It comprises a Chairman, three Vice-chairmen and 20 non-official members.

     The existing Vice-chairmen of the IPCC are Dr Lam Tai-fai, Mr Abraham Shek Lai-him and Mr Chan Kin-por, while other members are Mr Eric Cheung Tat-ming, Ms Christine Fang Meng-sang, Dr Chan Pui-kwong, Mr Ip Shing-hing, Ms Lau Yuk-kuen, Mr Kenneth Leung Kai-cheong, Dr Ma Hok-ka, Miss Wong Hang-yee, Dr Helena Wong Pik-wan, Miss Mary Teresa Wong Tak-lan, Mr Adrian Yip Chun-to, Mr Edwin Cheng Shing-lung, Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung, Ir Dr Vincent Simon Ho, Mr Arthur Luk Yee-shun, Miss Lisa Lau Man-man and Ms Ann So Lai-chun.

Ends/Friday, May 30, 2014
Issued at HKT 10:32


Print this page