Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Results of CPC election announced

     The Education Bureau (EDB) today (April 24) announced that 24 candidates had been elected to the Council on Professional Conduct in Education under the teacher-nominated and organisation-nominated categories.

     Voting for the teacher-nominated category was conducted on April 10. Thirteen candidates were elected to the council. They are:

Teacher-nominated     Name of Elected      Number of
Category              Candidate¡@¡@¡@¡@¡@¡@Votes
-----------------     ---------------      ----------

Secondary Schools
Aided                 Ms Fung Yun-yee      8,066
                      Mr Chen Yan-kai      7,062
                      Mr Fong King-lok     6,923
Government            Mr Lo Kon-keung      5,738
Direct Subsidy        Ms Ng Lai-fun        5,820
Scheme (DSS) and

Primary Schools
Aided                 Ms Fung Pik-yee      9,676
                      Ms Eva Yu Yee-wah    7,353
                      Mr Yu Kai-chun       5,640
Government            Mr Cheung Kam-fai    10,153
DSS and Private       No Nomination, Seat

                      Ms Elaine Kwan       5,545
                      Ms Law Wai-mei       3,814

Special Schools
                      Mr Chung Siu-ki,     1,070
                      Jonah Atkinson
                      Mr King Chi-yu       839

     Votes for the organisation-nominated category were counted yesterday by a representative of the EDB, witnessed by the representative from the Law Society of Hong Kong, Ms Christine Chu, and the representative from the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants, Mr Jonathan Ng.

     In the organisation-nominated category, 11 candidates were elected. Among them, eight candidates were elected under the following categories: Dr Chan Wai-kai and Ms Yvonne Lam Yuen-kwan (School Groups and Sponsoring Bodies); Mr Pun Tin-chi and Mr Yung Shek-shing (Teachers' Unions); Mr Fong Yiu-fai, Mr Tsang Hin-kwong and Ms Grace Tsui Wai-chuen (Subject-related Organisations); and Ms Pauline Chow Lo-sai (Other Educational Organisations).

     Dr Ko Po-yuk (Teacher Education Institutions), Mr Choi Sung-ki (Organisations of School Heads) and Mr Chow Ping-yan (Educational Commentary and Research Organisations) were elected uncontested.

     The list of council members of the new term has been uploaded to the website of the Council (

     The Permanent Secretary for Education will nominate three members, comprising a representative of the EDB and two lay members, to the Council.

Ends/Thursday, April 24, 2014
Issued at HKT 17:27


Print this page