Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
LegCo Delegation departs for Shanghai to conduct duty visit

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

     The Legislative Council (LegCo) Delegation, led by the President of LegCo, Mr Jasper Tsang, departed for Shanghai today (April 11) to conduct a two-day duty visit (April 12 and 13 ).

     Mr Tsang, the Delegation Leader, said at the LegCo Complex before leaving for the airport that he hoped the meeting between Members and officials from the Central Government would be as fruitful as both sides had expected, and every Member would benefit from every programme arranged for the visit.

     "And most of all, I hope the visit itself will leave a positive impression on both our Members and the Chinese Government, so that both sides will be more willing to carry on the dialogue and the interchange of ideas," said Mr Tsang.

     During its stay in Shanghai, the Delegation will meet with senior officials of Shanghai Municipality and visit the latest infrastructure and development in Shanghai, including the Shanghai Hongqiao Central Business District and Integrated Transportation Hub, the aircraft manufacturing site of the Commercial Aircraft Corporation of China, and the Shanghai Urban Planning Exhibition Centre.  The Delegation will also attend seminars to receive briefings on the topics of, namely "International developments and foreign policies", "Comprehensively deepening and enhancing the nation's reform", and "China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone", to learn about the latest development of the nation and Shanghai.  
     In addition, the Delegation will meet with Mr Wang Guangya, Director of Hong Kong and Macao Affairs Office of the State Council; Mr Li Fei, Chairman of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Basic Law Committee under the Standing Committee of the National People's Congress; and Mr Zhang Xiaoming, Director of the Liaison Office of the Central People's Government in the HKSAR, for discussion on issues of mutual concern, including Hong Kong's political development.

     The Delegation consists of 56 Members, including Mr Jasper Tsang, President of LegCo and Delegation Leader, and Mr Andrew Leung, Chairman of the House Committee and Deputy Delegation Leader.  Other Members include Mr Ronny Tong (Deputy Chairman of the House Committee), Mr Chan Kam-lam, Dr Lau Wong-fat, Mr Tam Yiu-chung, Mr Abraham Shek, Mr Tommy Cheung, Mr Frederick Fung, Mr Vincent Fang, Mr Wong Kwok-hing, Professor Joseph Lee, Mr Jeffrey Lam, Mr Wong Ting-kwong, Ms Cyd Ho, Ms Starry Lee, Dr Lam Tai-fai, Mr Chan Hak-kan, Mr Chan Kin-por, Dr Priscilla Leung, Dr Leung Ka-lau, Mr Cheung Kwok-che, Mr Wong Kwok-kin, Mr Ip Kwok-him, Mrs Regina Ip, Mr Paul Tse, Mr Alan Leong, Mr Leung Kwok-hung, Mr Michael Tien, Mr James Tien, Mr Ng Leung-sing, Mr Steven Ho, Mr Frankie Yick, Mr Yiu Si-wing, Mr Ma Fung-kwok, Mr Charles Mok, Mr Chan Han-pan, Ms Chan Yuen-han, Mr Leung Che-cheung, Mr Kenneth Leung, Ms Alice Mak, Dr Kwok Ka-ki, Mr Kwok Wai-keung, Mr Dennis Kwok, Mr Christopher Cheung, Mr Sin Chung-kai, Dr Helena Wong, Mr Ip Kin-yuen, Dr Elizabeth Quat, Mr Martin Liao, Mr Poon Siu-ping, Dr Chiang Lai-wan, Ir Dr Lo Wai-kwok, Mr Chung Kwok-pan, Mr Christopher Chung and Mr Tony Tse.

Ends/Friday, April 11, 2014
Issued at HKT 20:30


Print this page