HKCPEC Youth Programme premiere and award presentation ceremony

The following is issued on behalf of the Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (HKCPEC):

     Nine teams selected under the HKCPEC Youth Programme co-organised by the HKCPEC and the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups Jockey Club Media 21 (M21) will present their videos at a premiere and award presentation ceremony at 10am on Saturday (March 22) at the uCinema of M21 (Unit No. 2, LG2/F, Shek Pai Wan Shopping Centre, Aberdeen, Hong Kong).

     Members of the public are welcome to attend the ceremony. Those interested in attending are invited to enrol with the HKCPEC Secretariat by 6pm tomorrow (March 20). For enquiries, please contact the HKCPEC Secretariat on 2398 5449 or 2398 5594.

     The Chairman of the HKCPEC, Professor Stephen Cheung, and the Deputy Executive Director of the Hong Kong Federation of Youth Groups, Ms Yolanda Chiu, will officiate at the ceremony.

     The HKCPEC Youth Programme aims at advancing understanding among the youth community on Hong Kong's role and contribution to trade, economic and regional co-operation; enhancing their awareness and knowledge of co-operation in economic and trade matters in the Asia Pacific region; and increasing their knowledge, developing their analytical skills and encouraging their strategic thinking on Hong Kong's role and development in the Asia Pacific region.

     Interested teams, under either the secondary student stream or the young adult stream (aged between 18 and 29), were required to prepare proposals for video production (which could be in the form of short drama, animation or documentary) on themes related to regional economic development and co-operation, including the food crisis, creative industry and global inflation.

     Nine teams were selected and each was awarded seed money of $10,000 for video production. Their videos will be uploaded to the M21 website ( after March 22.

     The HKCPEC was established in March 1990 to co-ordinate Hong Kong's participation in the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC). In line with the nature of the PECC, the composition of the HKCPEC is tripartite, comprising members from the Government, the business sector and academia.

     The PECC is a non-governmental organisation set up in 1980 to develop closer co-operation in trade and economic issues among economies in the region.

     Currently, the PECC has 26 member committees, of which 23 are full members representing the economies of Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; China; Colombia; Ecuador; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; Mongolia; New Zealand; the Pacific Islands Forum; Peru; the Philippines; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; the United States of America; and Vietnam. The PECC also has one associate member, France (Pacific Territories), and two institutional members, the Pacific Trade and Development Conference and the Pacific Basin Economic Council.

Ends/Wednesday, March 19, 2014
Issued at HKT 12:21