Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation

     The Government today (March 17) announced the appointments to the Hong Kong Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (HKCPEC) for a new term of two years with effect from April 1, 2014.

     The President and Chair Professor of Public Policy of the Hong Kong Institute of Education, Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung, has been re-appointed as Chairman of the HKCPEC. Three members from academia, six members from the business sector and one government official are also appointed.

     "We are very pleased that Professor Cheung has agreed to continue to serve as the Chairman. We are confident that Professor Cheung, with his experience and dedicated service, will continue to lead the HKCPEC in contributing constructively to regional economic co-operation," a Government spokesperson said.

     The HKCPEC has 10 members as follows:

Academic sector:

- Professor Matthew Lee
Chair Professor of Information Systems and Electronic Commerce;
Director, Communication and Public Relations Office,
City University of Hong Kong

- Professor Lim Chin-leng
Professor of Law,
The University of Hong Kong

- Dr Simon Shen
Associate Professor and Director of Global Studies Programme, Faculty of Social Science;
Director of Master of Global Political Economy Programme;
Co-Director of International Affairs Research Centre, the Hong Kong Institute of Asia-Pacific Studies,
The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Business sector:

- Mr Guy Chambers
Chief Operating Officer,
Damin International Holdings Ltd

- Ms Karen Chan
Vice President (Marketing and Project Development),
German Pool Group Co Ltd

- Ms Chow Yuen-mei
Director and CEO,
Sea Horse (HK) Limited

- Mr Nicholas Kwan
Director of Research,
Hong Kong Trade Development Council

- Mr Martin Lee
Executive Director and Vice Chairman,
Henderson Land Development Company Limited

- Ms Pamela Mar
Project Director,
Fung Group


- Mr Raistlin Lau
Deputy Director-General of Trade and Industry
(Vice Chairman of the HKCPEC)

     The HKCPEC was established in March 1990 to co-ordinate Hong Kong's participation in the Pacific Economic Cooperation Council (PECC). In line with the nature of the PECC, the composition of the HKCPEC is tripartite, comprising members from the academic, business and government sectors.

     The PECC is a non-governmental organisation set up in 1980 to develop closer co-operation in trade and economic issues among economies in the region.

     Currently, the PECC has 26 member committees, of which 23 are full members representing the economies of Australia; Brunei Darussalam; Canada; Chile; China; Colombia; Ecuador; Hong Kong, China; Indonesia; Japan; Korea; Malaysia; Mexico; Mongolia; New Zealand; the Pacific Islands Forum; Peru; the Philippines; Singapore; Chinese Taipei; Thailand; the United States of America; and Vietnam. The PECC also has one associate member, France (Pacific Territories), and two institutional members, the Pacific Trade and Development Conference and the Pacific Basin Economic Council.

Ends/Monday, March 17, 2014
Issued at HKT 16:01


Print this page