Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform

     The Financial Secretary, Mr John C Tsang, has appointed two new members and re-appointed three incumbent members to the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR) for a term of two years starting from February 1, 2014.

     The two newly appointed members are Mr David Kidd and Dr Lewis Luk Tei.

     The three re-appointed members are Mr Stephen Birkett, Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin and Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau.

     A government spokesman said, "With the professional background and expertise of its members, the SCCLR has been providing valuable advice on company law reform to the Government, thereby contributing to the enhancement of Hong Kong's status as an international commercial and financial centre. The new Companies Ordinance, which seeks to enhance corporate governance, ensure better regulation, facilitate business and modernise the law in Hong Kong, will be brought into operation on March 3 this year.

     "We are grateful to the outgoing member, Mr Vincent Fan Chor-wah, for his valuable contributions to the SCCLR over the past six years," the spokesman added.

     The SCCLR was set up in 1984 to advise the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance, and the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders' protection, as and when necessary.

     Members of the SCCLR include practitioners from relevant professions including accountancy, legal and company secretarial fields, academics, individuals from the business communities, as well as representatives from relevant government departments and financial regulators.

     As from February 1, 2014, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:

Mr Anderson Chow Ka-ming (Chairman)
Mr Stephen Birkett
Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin
Mr Chew Fook-aun
Professor David Donald
Professor Goo Say-hak
Ms Roxanne Ismail
Mr David Kidd
Mr Johnson Kong Chi-how
Mr Rainier Lam Hok-chung
Dr Lewis Luk Tei
Mrs Catherine Morley
Mr Kenneth Ng Sing-yip
Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau
Ms Benita Yu Ka-po
Ms Wendy Yung Wen-yee

Ex-officio Members

Mr David Graham
Chief Regulatory Officer
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited

Mr Stefan Gannon
General Counsel
Hong Kong Monetary Authority

Mr Andrew Young
Chief Counsel
Securities and Futures Commission

Ms Ada Chung Lai-ling
Registrar of Companies

Ms Teresa Wong Siu-wan
Official Receiver

Mr Patrick Ho Chung-kei
Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services)
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau

Professor Edward Tyler
Senior Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law)
Department of Justice

Ends/Monday, January 27, 2014
Issued at HKT 15:00


Print this page