Appointments to Women's Commission announced

     The Government today (January 10) announced the appointment of three new members and the re-appointment of four incumbent members to the Women's Commission (WoC) with effect from January 15, 2014, for a term of two years.

     The three new members are Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin, Ms Angelina Kwan and Dr Lawrence Tang Chang-hung.

     Professor Hung is an Associate Professor of the Department of Social Work at Hong Kong Baptist University. She is a former Chairperson of the Social Workers Registration Board and a former member of the Equal Opportunities Commission.

     Ms Kwan is the Chief Executive Officer and founder of a consulting firm. She is also a member of the Process Review Panel of the Financial Reporting Council and a member of the Disciplinary Panel of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants.

     Dr Tang is an Honorary Clinical Professor of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology at the University of Hong Kong and a member of the Council on Human Reproductive Technology. He is the former Hospital Chief Executive of Kwong Wah Hospital and Tung Wah Group of Hospitals Wong Tai Sin Hospital.

     The four incumbent members re-appointed are Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee, Ms Leona Lam Wai-ling, Mrs Miranda Leung Chan Che-ming and Ms Wong Shu-ming.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments. He said, "Coming from a diverse background, the newly appointed and re-appointed members have vast experience in their professions and community services. I look forward to their advice on the work of the WoC which will enable the WoC to continue to make a valuable contribution to the promotion of the interests and well-being of women in Hong Kong."

     He also thanked the three outgoing members, Dr Ronnie Hui Ka-wah, Dr Polly Cheung Suk-yee and Professor Leung Lai-ching, for their sterling contribution and dedication to the work of the WoC.

     The WoC was set up on January 15, 2001, as a central mechanism to promote the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong. It plays a strategic role in advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.

     The membership list of the WoC with effect from January 15, 2014, is as follows:

Non-Official Members
Mrs Stella Lau Kun Lai-kuen (Chairperson)
Ms Teresa Au Pui-yee
Ms Au Yeung Po-chun
Ms Aruna Gurung
Professor Shirley Hung Suet-lin
Dr Maggie Koong May-kay
Ms Angelina Kwan
Professor Lam Ching-man
Ms Leona Lam Wai-ling
Ms Ada Lam Yuk-chun
Dr Trisha Leahy
Mrs Miranda Leung Chan Che-ming
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Dr Lawrence Tang Chang-hung
Mr Philip Tsai Wing-chung
Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee
Ms Catherine Wong Pui-yee
Ms Wong Shu-ming
Mr Robert Wong Yao-wing
Ms Rabi Yim Chor-pik
Ms Constance Yue Mui-ying

Ex-Officio Members
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson)
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative

Ends/Friday, January 10, 2014
Issued at HKT 11:08