Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
LegCo Members meet with Yau Tsim Mong and Wan Chai District Council members (with photos)

The following is issued behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

     Members of the Legislative Council (LegCo) held meetings today (January 9) with members of the Yau Tsim Mong District Council (DC) and the Wan Chai DC respectively in Conference Room 1 and Conference Room 2B of the LegCo Complex to discuss and exchange views on matters of mutual interest.

     During the meeting with the Yau Tsim Mong DC, LegCo Members discussed and exchanged views with DC members on the following issues: management of the Mong Kok Pedestrian Precinct; problems arising from unauthorised sub-division of flat units in buildings and countermeasures; impact of the Fire Safety (Buildings) Ordinance (Cap. 572) on owners of old buildings in Yau Tsim Mong District; concern over the planning and management of pedestrian connection facilities between the West Kowloon Terminus of the Hong Kong section of the Guangzhou-Shenzhen-Hong Kong Express Rail Link and the adjoining developments; and the Government's refusal to consult stakeholders (including the Owners' Corporations and residents of the buildings concerned) on licensing of guesthouses. The meeting was convened by Dr Priscilla Leung and attended by Mr Tommy Cheung, Mr Vincent Fang, Ms Starry Lee, Mr Ip Kwok-him, Mr Ma Fung-kwok, Ms Chan Yuen-han, Dr Helena Wong, Mr Martin Liao, Mr Poon Siu-ping, Dr Chiang Lai-wan, Dr Lo Wai-kwok and Mr Tony Tse.

     As for the meeting with the Wan Chai DC, LegCo Members discussed and exchanged views with DC members on the following issues: request for perfecting the signboard control system; regulating light pollution by legislation; review the "Guidelines for Mounting and Placing of Skips"; and considering introducing legislation to regulate the feeding of wild doves in urban areas. The meeting was convened by Mr Jeffrey Lam and attended by Mr Vincent Fang, Mr Wong Kwok-hing, Ms Starry Lee, Mr Ip Kwok-him, Mr Paul Tse, Mr Ng Leung-sing, Mr Charles Peter Mok, Dr Kenneth Chan, Ms Chan Yuen-han, Mr Dennis Kwok, Mr Sin Chung-kai and Dr Lo Wai-kwok.

Ends/Thursday, January 9, 2014
Issued at HKT 19:28


Photo Photo Photo Photo
Print this page