Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointment of Non-official Members to the ICAC-related committees

     The Government announced today (December 20) that the Chief Executive has approved various appointments to the four Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) advisory committees, namely the Advisory Committee on Corruption (ACOC), the Operations Review Committee (ORC), the Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee (CPAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations (CACCR), as well as the ICAC Complaints Committee (ICC), all for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2014. Details are as follows:


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mrs Ayesha MacPherson Lau and Professor Timothy Tong Wai-cheung as members of ACOC. Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung, in his capacity as the Chairman of CPAC, and Professor John Leong Chi-yan, in his capacity as Chairman of CACCR, have also been re-appointed to the ACOC as members.

     The ACOC advises the Commissioner of the ICAC (the Commissioner) on any aspect of the problem of corruption in Hong Kong and keeps the operational, staffing and administrative policies of the ICAC under review. The ACOC also draws to the Chief Executive's attention any special aspect of the work of the ICAC or any problem encountered by it.


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Ms Kwan Sau-ha and Miss Maria Tam Wai-chu as members of the ORC. Mr Nicholas Robert Sallnow-Smith and Mr Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun have been newly appointed as members of the ORC.

     The ORC oversees all the ICAC investigations. It reviews corruption complaints received and investigations conducted by the ICAC to ensure that they are handled effectively and efficiently. It also examines circumstances where search warrants are authorised by the Commissioner, where persons have been put on bail for more than six months, and where investigations have lasted over a year or require substantial resources.


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Albert Au Siu-cheung as Chairman of the CPAC. Ir Professor Reuben Chu Pui-kwan, Professor Cindy Lam Lo-kuen, Mrs Bethy Tam Ho Kum-man and Ms Nancy Tsang Lan-see have also been re-appointed as members of the CPAC.

     The CPAC receives and calls for reports from the ICAC about practices and procedures of government departments, public bodies and the private sector which may be conducive to corruption and advises the Commissioner on which areas should be examined and the degree of priority to be accorded to each.


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Professor John Leong Chi-yan as Chairman of the CACCR. Mrs April Chan Yiu Wai-yee, Ms Katherine Cheung Marn-kay, Dr Lewis Luk Tei and Mr Irons Sze have also been re-appointed as members of the CACCR.

     The CACCR advises the Commissioner on appropriate measures to foster public support in combating corruption and to educate the public against the evils of corruption. It also monitors community response to the ICAC's work and public attitudes towards corruption in general.


     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Edward Leong Che-hung as Chairman of the ICC. Ms Angela Lee Wai-yin has also been re-appointed as a member of the ICC. Mr Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung, Dr Priscilla Leung Mei-fun and Miss Alice Mak Mei-kuen have been newly appointed as members of the ICC.

     The ICC monitors the handling of non-criminal complaints against the ICAC, reviews ICAC procedures and practices which may lead to complaints and makes recommendations when necessary.

     The Government expresses its gratitude to all outgoing members of these committees, who will retire on December 31, 2013, for their valuable contributions to the work of the respective committees.

     The non-official membership lists of the four ICAC advisory committees and the ICC are at Annex.

Ends/Friday, December 20, 2013
Issued at HKT 11:28


Print this page