Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Committee on Home-School Co-operation

     The Education Bureau today (August 30) announced the re-appointment of Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on as Chairman of the Committee on Home-School Co-operation (CHSC) for one year from September 1, 2013.

     The Bureau also announced the appointment of 18 members to the CHSC. The new members are Professor Terry Au Kit-fong, Mr Yeung Sai-man, Ms Bonnie Chan Tak-chi and Ms Lam Yuet-ngor.

     A spokesman for the Education Bureau said, "Dr Tsui will steer the CHSC on strategic planning and implementation of parent education, including empowering parents to assist their children in the transition from secondary to tertiary education."

     The CHSC comprises members from different walks of life, including parents as well as professionals in education, law, medical and business sectors.

     Established in 1993 as an advisory body, the CHSC's main roles include promoting home-school co-operation and advising the Education Bureau, other government departments and non-government organisations on ways to promote parent involvement in education.

     The CHSC is also tasked to encourage the setting up of parent-teacher associations (PTAs) and Federations of PTAs (FPTAs). To date, all government and aided schools have set up their PTAs and 18 districts have set up their FPTAs. The full membership list of the CHSC of the new term is as follows:

Name                         Capacity
----                         --------


Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on       Parent


Mr Mok Chung-fai             Educator-
                             Secondary School
Dr Poon Bo-chiu              Educator-
                             Secondary School
Ms Cheung Lai-chu            Educator- Primary School
Ms Siu Siu-yin               Educator- Primary School
Ms Lee Suk-chau              Educator- Special School
Ms Kwong Oi-ho               Educator- Kindergarten
Ms Ann So Lai-chun           Parent- Secondary School
Mr Johnny Tsang Wing-keung   Parent- Secondary School
Ms He Shi-lian               Parent- Primary School
Ms Bonnie Chan Tak-chi*      Parent- Primary School
Ms Lam Yuet-ngor*            Parent- Special School
Mrs Lo Lee Tsui-mui          Parent- Kindergarten
Professor Terry Au Kit-fong* Professional
Dr Regina Ching Cheuk-tuen   Professional
Dr Alice Lee Yuet-lin        Professional
Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai       Professional
Dr Lilian Wong Hiu-lei       Professional
Mr Yeung Sai-man*            Professional

* Newly appointed members

Ends/Friday, August 30, 2013
Issued at HKT 16:00


Print this page