Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
LegCo Subcommittee on Poverty departs for Taiwan and Japan to conduct duty visit

The following is issued on behalf of the Legislative Council Secretariat:

     The Subcommittee on Poverty of the Legislative Council's House Committee departed for Taiwan today (August 20) to begin its duty visit to Taiwan and Japan.

     The purpose of the visit is for Members to study the experience of these two places in alleviating poverty, particularly elderly in poverty and working poverty. Members will also exchange views with the relevant parties involved in the formulation, implementation and monitoring of strategies in this regard and obtain first-hand information on the policies and initiatives put in place to alleviate poverty.

     During its stay in Taiwan, the delegation will pay a visit to the Ministry of Health and Welfare. Moreover, the delegation will seek to understand how local employment opportunities are created to alleviate poverty in Taiwan. The delegation will also visit the low-cost housing in Taipei City as well as the Senior Day Care Centre in New Taipei City and meet with officials of the Taipei City and New Taipei City Government.

     In Japan, the delegation will pay a visit to the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare as well as the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry. The delegation will also receive a briefing by the Tokyo Metropolitan Government on the assistance the local/municipal government provides for the low-income group and jobless, and plan for promoting and supporting self-reliance. In addition, the delegation will visit various organisations to learn about their support and caring services for the poor, elderly and children from economically (or for other reasons) deprived families.

     The delegation is led by Chairman of the Subcommittee on Poverty, Mr Frederick Fung, other Subcommittee members participating the duty visit including Mr Leung Yiu-chung, Mr Cheung Kwok-che, Mr Alan Leong, Mr Leung Kwok-hung, Mr Wong Yuk-man, Ms Chan Yuen-han and Mr Kwok Wai-keung, as well as non-Subcommittee Members including Mr Wong Kwok-kin and Mr Paul Tse.

Ends/Tuesday, August 20, 2013
Issued at HKT 20:46


Print this page