Appointments to Cantonese Opera Development Fund Advisory Committee

     The Government today (July 31) announced appointments to the Cantonese Opera Development Fund Advisory Committee for the period from August 1, 2013, to July 31, 2015.

     Established in 2005, the Cantonese Opera Development Fund aims to support projects and activities relating to research, promotion and sustainable development of Cantonese opera. Since its establishment, the Fund has approved about $61.9 million in support of some 510 projects on the development of Cantonese opera, including professional training and performance projects, arts education and promotion activities, research and preservation programmes, cultural exchange and venue support programmes.

     The terms of reference for the Cantonese Opera Development Fund Advisory Committee are to provide advice on matters relating to the administration and management of the Fund. The following members will serve in the new term of the Cantonese Opera Development Fund Advisory Committee:

Mr Frankie Yeung Wai-shing (Chairman)
Professor Lui Yu-hon (Vice-Chairman)
Ms Jeanette Chan
Mr Cheng Kok-kong
Mr Cheung Kin-yip
Ms Christina Ko Mun-wah
Ms Kuk Man-yu
Mr Lee Tak-kwong (Lee Lung)
Dr Li Siu-leung
Dr Poon Po-chiu
Ms Pun Kwai-mui (Ng May-ying)
Mr Seto Yok (Loong Koon-tin)
Ms Tang Mi-ling
Mr Charles Chow Chan-lum (Chairman of the Cantonese Opera Advisory Committee)
Representative of the Education Bureau
Representative of the Home Affairs Bureau
Representative of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department

     The spokesperson for the Home Affairs Bureau thanked the outgoing members, Mr Mo Yu-tin (Sun Kim Long), Ms Wong Shui-kwan (Wong Chiu-kwan), Mr Ko Wai-tak and Mrs Fanny Lai Ip Po-ping, for their contributions to the Committee.

Ends/Wednesday, July 31, 2013
Issued at HKT 14:01