Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Advisory Committee on Teacher Education and Qualifications renamed as Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals

     The Education Bureau (EDB) today (May 15) announced that the Advisory Committee on Teacher Education and Qualifications (ACTEQ) will be renamed as the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals (COTAP) on June 1, 2013, to better reflect its function of enhancing the professional development of teachers and principals.

     At the same time, Dr Carrie Willis has been appointed as the Chairperson of COTAP for a term of three years from June 1, 2013, to May 31, 2016.

     "COTAP is a non-statutory body set up under the purview of the Education Bureau. Apart from performing ACTEQ's roles and functions in advising the Government on policies and measures relating to the professional development of the teaching profession, COTAP may, where necessary, conduct educational research and professional development programmes for both teachers and principals," a spokesman for the EDB said.

     Commenting on the appointment, the Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim, said, "We are pleased to have Dr Willis, a reputable professional, as the Chairperson of COTAP. With her rich experience in public service, in particular having served on various boards and committees advising on education, training and manpower development issues, we are confident that she will be able to lead COTAP in advising the Government on issues related to education as well as the professional development of teachers and principals with a view to enhancing the quality of education in Hong Kong."

     Mr Ng also took the opportunity to thank the outgoing ACTEQ Chairman, Mr Cheung Pak-hong, and his members. "We are most grateful to all the outgoing ACTEQ members for their invaluable contributions to ACTEQ in the past years. In particular, I would like to thank Mr Cheung, who has demonstrated great commitment and strong leadership over the past five years as Chairman of ACTEQ," he said.

     The other 17 members of COTAP are drawn from among front-line educators of the kindergarten, primary, secondary and special education sectors, school sponsoring bodies, and tertiary institutions. There are also lay members, a parent representative and a representative from the University Grants Committee (UGC).

     The following is the membership of COTAP:

Dr Carrie Willis

Ms Lee Tze-ching             (Kindergarten)
Ms Wendy Lok Hing-yee        (Kindergarten)
Ms Cheng Lai-kuen            (Primary School)
Mr Cheung Yung-pong          (Primary School)
Ms Pauline Chow Lo-sai       (Secondary School)
Ms Enian Tsang               (Secondary School)
Ms Peggy Chu Pui-man         (Special Education)
Ms Wu Siu-ling               (Special Education)
Professor Hau Kit-tai        (Tertiary Institution)
Professor Horace Ip Ho-shing (Tertiary Institution)
Mr Henry Tong Sau-chai       (School Sponsoring Body)
Sister Cecilia Wong Yeuk-han (School Sponsoring Body)
Mr William Chan Fu-keung     (Lay Member)
Ms Teresa Yang Ming-yen      (Lay Member)
Mr Yeung Sai-man             (Lay Member)
Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on       (Parent)
Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung         (UGC representative)
EDB representative

Ends/Wednesday, May 15, 2013
Issued at HKT 16:35


Print this page