Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Government appoints URA Board Chairman and non-executive directors

     The Government today (April 26) announced that the Chief Executive (CE) has, pursuant to section 4 of the Urban Renewal Authority Ordinance (URAO), re-appointed Mr Barry Cheung Chun-yuen as Chairman of the Urban Renewal Authority (URA) Board for a term of two years with effect from May 1, 2013, and re-appointed/appointed 16 other non-executive directors, including four official non-executive directors, for a term of three years with effect from the same day.

     Mr Philip Liao Yi-kang was re-appointed non-official non-executive director. The 11 new appointees are Dr Chiang Lai-wan, Mr Edward Chow Kwong-fai, Mr Fung Wai-kwong, Mr Laurence Ho Wing-him, Mr Lester Garson Huang, Professor Eddie Hui Chi-man, Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen, Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen, Mr Timonthy Ma Kam-wah, Mr David Tang Chi-fai and Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai.

     The Secretary for Development, Mr Paul Chan, welcomed the appointments and re-appointments.

     "Since the promulgation of the new Urban Renewal Strategy (URS) in February 2011, the URA has embarked on a number of new initiatives including the 'Demand-led Scheme', the 'Facilitation Scheme' and the 'Flat-for-Flat' Scheme. Lately, the URA also launched a new pilot scheme to redevelop industrial buildings," Mr Chan said.

     "These are uncharted waters for the URA. The re-appointment of Mr Barry Cheung Chun-yuen as Chairman of the URA Board will provide the necessary continuity and strong leadership at the Board level to help the URA rise to the challenge. Mr Cheung's extensive experience in urban renewal and his thorough understanding of the work of the URA will help ensure a smooth transition as new non-official non-executive members come on board. I am glad that Mr Cheung has agreed to lead the URA for two more years.

     "The newly appointed non-official non-executive members come from a wide spectrum of backgrounds and I am sure their experience and expertise in their respective fields will help contribute and provide valuable input to the work of the URA Board. I look forward to working closely with the new Board to further the important task of urban renewal in Hong Kong," said Mr Chan.

     Mr Chan also expressed gratitude to the eight retiring directors for their invaluable contributions to the work of the URA. The eight retiring members are Mr Victor Chan Hin-fu, Mr Walter Chan Kar-lok, Professor Ho Pui-yin, Mr Ip Kwok-him, Dr Isaac Ng Ka-chui, Mr Ng Shui-lai, Mr Peter To and Mr Douglas Young Chi-chiu.

     The new URA Board comprises 21 non-official non-executive directors (including the Chairman), four official non-executive directors and three executive directors. All the non-official non-executive directors are appointed in their personal capacity.

     The membership of the URA Board commencing May 1, 2013, is set out below:

*(Appointed from May 1, 2013, to April 30, 2015)
Mr Barry Cheung Chun-yuen

Non-Executive Directors (Non-official)
*(Appointed from December 1, 2011, to November 30, 2014)
Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen
Mr Philip Kan Siu-lun
Mr Daniel Lam Chun
Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
Dr John Wong Yee-him

*(Appointed from December 1, 2012, to November 30, 2014)
Mr Dennis Kwok
Mr James To Kun-sun
Mr Wong Kwok-kin

*(Appointed from May 1, 2013, to April 30, 2016)
Dr Chiang Lai-wan
Mr Edward Chow Kwong-fai
Mr Fung Wai-kwong
Mr Laurence Ho Wing-him
Mr Lester Garson Huang
Professor Eddie Hui Chi-man
Mr Nelson Lam Chi-yuen
Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen
Mr Philip Liao Yi-kang
Mr Timonthy Ma Kam-wah
Mr David Tang Chi-fai
Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai

Non-Executive Directors (Official)
Director of Buildings
Director of Home Affairs
Director of Lands
Director of Planning

Executive Directors
Managing Director/Deputy Chairman
Two Executive Directors

Ends/Friday, April 26, 2013
Issued at HKT 10:38


Print this page