Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Government announces appointments to Competition Commission

     The Government announced today (April 26) the appointments by the Chief Executive of the Chairperson and members of the Competition Commission.

     The Competition Ordinance was passed on June 14, 2012, by the Legislative Council to provide a legal framework to curb anti-competitive conduct in various sectors. Provisions of the Ordinance concerning the establishment and operation of the Commission came into effect on January 18, 2013.
     Under the Ordinance, the Commission is established as an independent statutory body tasked with the functions to investigate competition-related complaints, and to bring public enforcement action before the Competition Tribunal. The Commission also performs such other functions as preparing regulatory guidelines, promoting public understanding of the Ordinance and the benefits to be brought about by competition through public education work, as well as advising the Government on competition matters.

     A government spokesman said, "The Chairperson and members of the Commission are experts with vast experience and rich knowledge in their own professions/sectors such as law, economics, consumer protection, financial services, commerce and industry, and small and medium enterprises. We are grateful for their agreement to serve on the Commission with the aim of fostering fair and free competition in Hong Kong.

     "We will implement the Ordinance in phases so that the public and the business community can familiarise themselves with the new legal requirements and make necessary adjustments. During the transitional period, the Commission will prepare regulatory guidelines, carry out consultation and conduct publicity programmes to promote public understanding of the Ordinance."

     The Commission comprises 14 members including the Chairperson. The membership is as follows:

Ms Anna Wu Hung-yuk

Members (Total: 13)
Mr Chan Kwok-wai
Ms Agnes Chan Sui-kuen
Mr Thomas Cheng Kin-hon
Professor Leonard Cheng Kwok-hon
Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit
Mr Kwok Kwok-chuen
Mr Larry Kwok Lam-kwong
Ms Miranda Kwok Pui-fong
Mr Andrew Leung Kwan-yuen
Dr Anthony William Seeto Yiu-wai
Professor Tsang Shu-ki
Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han
Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung

Ends/Friday, April 26, 2013
Issued at HKT 11:30


Print this page