Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Taiwan and Hong Kong musicians to perform in joint concert

     Talented musicians from the Taipei Liuqin Ensemble (TLE) and Hong Kong Youth Chinese Orchestra (HKYCO) will perform jointly for a concert titled "The Garden after Rain" at 8pm on April 6 (Saturday) at Yuen Long Theatre Auditorium, organised by the Music Office of the Leisure and Cultural Services Department.

     Programme highlights include "Air" by Bach, "Ebullient Plucked Music" by Wang Dan-hung, "The Wind of Friendship, No. 1" by Peng Xiu-wen, "Mountain Yimeng" by Lin Wei-hua and Zhang Shi-ye, and "The Garden after Rain" by Su Wen-cheng and Cheng Tsui-ping.

     Other items in the programme include Mao Yuan and Liu Tie-shan's well-known piece "Dance of the Yao People", and two commissioned works by TLE - Law Kin-pong's "Fantasia P" and Liu Chi-hsuan's "Caprice of Nights".

     TLE Principal Conductor Liu Chi-hsuan and Music Office instructors Tsui Ying-fai and Kwok Kin-ming will conduct while Dai Pei-yao, Chen I-ling and Lee Shih-yun will perform as liuqin soloists in the concert.

     Founded in 1993, the TLE aims to inject innovative elements into music played on Chinese plucked instruments, as well as to promote the abilities of distinguished musicians. The ensemble has taken part in more than 100 performances and visited places including Guam, San Francisco, Las Vegas, Hong Kong, Beijing and Guangzhou. The TLE has previously been invited to perform with the Hong Kong New Tune Chinese Orchestra and the Hong Kong Chinese Orchestra.

     Established in 1978, the HKYCO has around 90 members. The orchestra has taken part in numerous local performances and major festivals including the 47th National Day Celebration Concert, the 1997 Reunification Spectacular and the Music of the Dragons concert in 2002. In 2000 and 2007, it performed exchange programmes in Beijing, Xian, Nanjing, Wuxi and Jiangyin. In 2011, the orchestra embarked on a debut tour of Taiwan and received high acclaim for its performance at the Contemporary Chinese Orchestra Festival.

     Tickets priced at $80, $60 and $40 for the concert are now available at all URBTIX outlets. Half-price concessions are available for full-time students, senior citizens aged 60 and above, people with disabilities and Comprehensive Social Security Assistance recipients.

     Credit card telephone booking can be made at 2111 5999 and Internet booking at For programme enquiries, please call 2598 8335 or 2582 5264 or visit the website

Ends/Thursday, March 14, 2013
Issued at HKT 15:21


Print this page