Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Sha Tin District Council by-election poll cards sent to electors

     The Registration and Electoral Office (REO) has mailed poll cards to more than 8,000 registered electors of the Tin Sum Constituency to remind them to vote in the Sha Tin District Council by-election on March 10.

     "Electors who have not yet received their poll cards can call the election hotline on 2891 1001," a spokesman for the REO said today (February 28).

     "Electors are advised to read carefully the address of the designated polling station on their poll cards indicating where they should cast their votes," he said.

     Together with the poll card, the REO has sent to every elector of the Tin Sum Constituency a map showing the location of the designated polling station, a guide to the voting procedure, an Introduction to Candidates and a leaflet from the Independent Commission Against Corruption on clean elections.

     A polling station located at the Lung Hang Estate Community Centre, Lung Hang Estate, Sha Tin, will open to electors from 7.30am to 10.30pm on the polling day.

     Tin Sum Constituency electors who are remanded or detained by law enforcement agencies other than the Correctional Services Department (CSD) on the polling day, and who have expressed their wish to vote in the by-election, will be able to cast their ballots at the dedicated polling station located at the Tim Sum Police Station, 2 Hin Keng Street, Sha Tin. The polling hours will be from 7.30am to 10.30pm.

     Should there be any Tin Sum Constituency electors imprisoned or remanded in the CSD's custody on the polling day, arrangements will be made for them to vote at the dedicated polling stations set up in their respective penal institutions. The REO will make an announcement on March 9 on the number of dedicated polling stations to be set up in penal institutions.

     For security reasons, the polling hours for the dedicated polling stations in penal institutions will be from 9am to 4pm.

     The voting procedure for electors and the venue setup at the dedicated polling stations will be basically the same as those of the ordinary polling stations.

     The four candidates contesting the by-election are Lam Hong-ching (No. 1), Pun Kwok-shan (No. 2), Ting Tsz-yuen (No. 3) and So Pui-lam (No. 4).

Ends/Thursday, February 28, 2013
Issued at HKT 11:00


Print this page