Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Minimum Wage Commission appointments announced

     The Government announced today (February 26) the appointments to the Minimum Wage Commission (MWC) for a two-year term with effect from March 1, 2013.

     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Jat Sew-tong, SC, as the chairperson and appointed 12 members from the labour sector, the business community, academia and the Government to the MWC. The chairperson and the nine non-official members are appointed on a personal basis.

     Among the non-official members, Professor Alfred Chan Cheung-ming, Mr Lau Chin-shek, Ms Lau Ka-shi, Professor Suen Wing-chuen and Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung are serving members, while Mr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo, Professor Leung Siu-fai, Ms Li Fung-ying and Mr Kingsley Wong Kwok are newly appointed.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments. He said, "The statutory minimum wage (SMW) has important implications on Hong Kong's employment, society and the economy. I am most grateful that the chairperson and members have agreed to serve on the Commission to offer their wealth of experience and insights."

     He continued, "Mr Jat has led the first-term MWC in accomplishing the important task of reviewing the initial SMW rate. I am confident that under his outstanding leadership the Commission will discharge its function effectively. My gratitude also goes to the four outgoing members, Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung, Mr Kwong Chi-kin, Mr Lee Kai-ming and Ms Caroline Mak Sui-king, for their sterling contribution and dedication to the MWC."

     The MWC is established under the Minimum Wage Ordinance with the main function of reporting to the Chief Executive in Council its recommendation on the SMW rate. It has to maintain an appropriate balance between the objectives of forestalling excessively low wages on one hand and minimising the loss of low-paid jobs on the other while sustaining Hong Kong's economic growth and competitiveness.

     The membership list of the MWC for the new term is as follows:

Mr Jat Sew-tong, SC

Non-official Members
Professor Alfred Chan Cheung-ming
Mr Lau Chin-shek
Ms Lau Ka-shi
Professor Suen Wing-chuen
Mr Simon Wong Kit-lung
Mr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo (newly appointed)
Professor Leung Siu-fai (newly appointed)
Ms Li Fung-ying (newly appointed)
Mr Kingsley Wong Kwok (newly appointed)

Members who are public officers
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare
Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Commerce, Industry and Tourism)
Government Economist

Ends/Tuesday, February 26, 2013
Issued at HKT 18:08


Print this page