Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Establishment of Chinese Medicine Development Committee

     The Government announced today (January 17) the establishment of the Chinese Medicine Development Committee, to give recommendations to the Government concerning the direction and long-term strategy of the future development of Chinese medicines in Hong Kong. The Committee comprises non-official members and four ex-officio members for a term of two years, from February 1, 2013, to January 31, 2015.

     To implement the policy direction of developing Chinese medicines as committed to in the Chief Executive's Manifesto, the Government set up the Preparatory Task Force on the Chinese Medicine Development Committee in August 2012. The Task Force put forward proposals on the Committee's terms of reference and composition and set directions on the focused areas of work of the Committee. The Chief Executive accepted the proposals and announced in the Policy Address to set up the Committee, to be chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health and comprising representatives from the Chinese medicine practitioners, the Chinese medicine trade, academia and the research and health-care sector, as well as lay persons.

     "The Committee will focus its deliberations on a number of key areas and explore specific measures for the development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong. These key areas include raising the professional standard and status of Chinese medicine practitioners, strengthening the promotion of research and development of Chinese medicine, encouraging the integration of Chinese and Western medicine in clinical treatment, expanding the role of Chinese medicine in the public health-care system, and provision of Chinese medicine in-patient services etc," a Government spokesman said.

     The terms of reference of the Committee are to:

(i) examine the current landscape and the needs of the Chinese medicine sector in the areas of personnel training and professional development, services, scientific research and the industry development, etc;
(ii) explore the future development directions and goals of the above areas;
(iii) set priorities for the development goals of the above areas;  
(iv) recommend feasible strategies and measures for projects for priority development; and
(v) monitor the implementation of relevant measures.

     "Most of the non-official members of the Committee come from the Chinese medicine practitioners, the Chinese medicine trade and other health-care sectors. There are also members from other professional sectors. With their vast experience and rich knowledge, they will work with the Government to set out a blueprint for the future development of Chinese medicines in Hong Kong," the spokesman added.

     The first meeting of the Committee will be held in the first quarter of 2013.

     The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Secretary for Food and Health

Non-official Members
Professor Andrew Chan Chi-fai
Mr Abraham Chan Yu-ling
Mr Paul Fan Chor-ho
Ms Feng Jiu
Mr Hui Sang
Professor Kwan Hoi-shan
Professor Albert Leung Wing-nang
Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang
Professor Lu Ai-ping
Mr Luk Shun-hoi
Ms Teresa Ngan Man-shan
Dr Stewart Tung Yuk
Mr Wong Kit
Dr Andrew Yip Wai-chun
Dr Edwin Yu Chau-leung
Professor Zhao Zhong-zhen

Ex-officio Members
Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health)
Commissioner for Innovation and Technology
Director of Health
Chief Executive of the Hospital Authority

Ends/Thursday, January 17, 2013
Issued at HKT 17:56


Print this page