Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Quality Education Fund Steering Committee

     The Education Bureau today (January 15) announced the appointment of members to the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee (QEFSC).

     The following members have been appointed to the QEFSC:

* Mr Lam Sek-kong, Partner (Solicitor), S K Lam, Alfred Chan & Co
* Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on, Director and Deputy General Manager, Hantec Pacific Ltd
* Professor Tse Chi-kong, Chair Professor, Department of Electronic and Information Engineering, Hong Kong Polytechnic University

     The following members have been re-appointed to the QEFSC:

* Dr Charles Chan Ching-hai, Associate Head, Department of Applied Social Sciences, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
* Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen, Principal, Ma On Shan Ling Liang Primary School
* Ms Shirley Marie Therese Loo, Development Director, Family Heartware Ltd
* Mr Ma Ching-cheng, Director, Tai Sang Bank Ltd
* Ms Halina Poon Suk-han, Principal, Christian & Missionary Alliance Sun Kei Secondary School
* Ms Wu Shuk-yin, Headmistress, Yan Oi Tong Tin Ka Ping Primary School

     The members' appointments will take effect from January 16, 2013, for a term of two years.

     "I am confident that with the above appointments, the Quality Education Fund (QEF) will continue with its excellent work in the promotion of quality school education in Hong Kong," said the Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng Hak-kim.

     He also thanked the outgoing member, Ms Enian Tsang, for her contributions to the QEFSC in the past years.

     The QEF was established in early 1998 with capital of $5 billion to fund community initiatives which promote quality education in Hong Kong. The QEFSC advises on policies and operation of the QEF and also makes recommendations to the Fund's Trustee on the awards of grants.

     Since its establishment, the Fund has supported over 8 200 projects with a total grant amounting to around $4 billion.

Ends/Tuesday, January 15, 2013
Issued at HKT 16:00


Print this page