Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Social Welfare Advisory Committee announced

     The Government today (December 14) announced the appointment of the Chairman and five new members, as well as the re-appointment of seven incumbent members, to the Social Welfare Advisory Committee (SWAC) for a term of two years.

     The new Chairman is Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang, and the five new members are Dr Crystal Cheng Lai-ling, Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping, Mr Laurence Ho Wing-him, Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen and Ms Sania Yau Sau-wai.

     Mr Vincent Lo is a legal consultant and Chairman of the Hong Kong Red Cross. He is also Chairman of the Art Museum Advisory Panel and a member of the Advisory Committee on Post-service Employment of Civil Servants and the Public Service Commission.

     Dr Crystal Cheng is Business Director of the Hong Kong Council of Social Service, responsible for identifying new directions and fostering innovations in various social welfare services.

     Dr Roy Chung is from the business sector. He is Chairman of the Federation of Hong Kong Industries and Deputy Chairman of the Vocational Training Council. He is also a member of the Steering Committee on Innovation and Technology and an assessor of the Small Entrepreneur Research Assistance Programme Project Assessment Panel under the Innovation and Technology Fund.

     Mr Laurence Ho is an Adjunct Associate Professor of the School of Professional and Continuing Education of the University of Hong Kong. He worked for the Government for 25 years and is former Deputy Secretary for Health and Welfare. He is also a member of the Public Affairs Forum.

     Mr Laurence Li, a barrister, is a member of the Antiquities Advisory Board, the Town Planning Board and the Council of the Hong Kong Polytechnic University.

     Ms Sania Yau is Chief Executive Officer of the New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association. She is also a member of the Lump Sum Grant Steering Committee.

     The seven re-appointed members are Ms Anna May Chan Mei-lan, Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai, Mr David Fong Man-hung, Dr Ip Yan-ming, Mr Joseph Man Hung-yee, Ms Theresa Tao Chee-ying and Mr Charles Yang Chuen-liang.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Matthew Cheung Kin-chung, welcomed the appointments.

     "Mr Lo has rich experience in community service and has served on the SWAC previously as a member. I am confident that he will be able to lead the SWAC in providing valuable advice to the Government. I look forward to working hand in hand with them all in developing Hong Kong's social welfare policies," Mr Cheung said.

     He also thanked the out-going Chairman, Professor Chan Yuk-shee, for his outstanding leadership in the past four years, and the four out-going members, Mr Bunny Chan Chung-bun, Dr Lam Ching-choi, Dr Leung Wing-tai and Mr Ben Wong Chung-mat, for their sterling contributions during their term of service.

     The SWAC reviews social welfare services from time to time and advises the Government on all matters of social welfare policy.

     Following is the membership list of the SWAC with effect from December 1, 2012:

Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang

Non-official members:

Ms Maggie Chan Mei-kit
Ms Anna May Chan Mei-lan
Dr Dorothy Chan Yuen Tak-fai
Dr Crystal Cheng Lai-ling
Dr Roy Chung Chi-ping
Mr David Fong Man-hung
Mr Laurence Ho Wing-him
Dr Ip Yan-ming
Ms Lam Shuk-yee
Mr Christopher Law Kin-chung
Mr Hansen Lee Hong-kong
Mr Edmond Lee Man-bun
Mr Laurence Li Lu-jen
Mrs Agnes Mak Tang Pik-yee
Mr Joseph Man Hung-yee
Mr Jovy Suen Leung-kwong
Ms Theresa Tao Chee-ying
Dr Sandra Tsang Kit-man
Mrs Teresa Tsien Wong Bik-kwan
Mr Michael Wong Yick-kam
Mr Charles Yang Chuen-liang
Ms Sania Yau Sau-wai

Ends/Friday, December 14, 2012
Issued at HKT 11:46


Print this page