Working Group on Differentiation between Medical Procedures and Beauty Services conducts first meeting (with photo)

     The Director of Health, Dr Constance Chan, today (December 10) chaired the first meeting of the Working Group on Differentiation between Medical Procedures and Beauty Services. The Working Group is under the Steering Committee on Review of the Regulation of Private Healthcare Facilities.

     The terms of reference of the Working Group are to differentiate between medical treatments and ordinary beauty services currently available in the market and to make recommendations on procedures that should be performed by registered medical practitioners.

     By undertaking its duties, the Working Group seeks to address health risks caused by beauty parlours improperly performing medical procedures under the cover of providing "medical beauty services".

     At its meeting today, the Working Group discussed and agreed on the work plan for the coming few months. Members were also given a brief overview of the regulatory regime for beauty services in jurisdictions outside Hong Kong such as China (including Taiwan), selected states of the United States (New Jersey, California, Maryland), Singapore, the United Kingdom and Australia.

     They also examined the common cosmetic procedures that may pose safety concerns offered by beauty centres in Hong Kong, and had useful exchanges on the guiding principles for differentiating medical procedures from ordinary beauty services.   

     Given that the Working Group will be reviewing various beauty procedures including those involving the use of medical devices, members were also briefed on the progress and the way forward for the regulation of medical devices in Hong Kong.

     The Working Group is expected to present its initial recommendations to the Steering Committee by the second quarter of 2013.

     The Working Group, chaired by the Director of Health, comprises Steering Committee members and co-opted members from relevant medical specialties, the beauty industry and consumer representatives.

     Following is the membership list of the Working Group:

The Director of Health


Steering Committee members:
Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing
Dr Sigmund Leung Sai-man
Dr Susie Lum Shun-sui
Dr Tse Hung-hing
Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee
Dr Yeung Chiu-fat
Head of Healthcare Planning and Development Office, Food and Health Bureau/Representative

Co-opted members:
Professor Henry Chan Hin-lee
Ms Rinbo Chan
Dr Ho Chiu-ming
Dr Ho King-man
Dr Michael Ho Ming-tai
Ms Amy Hui
Mr Nelson Ip Sai-hung
Dr Walter King Wing-keung
Ms Cecilia Kuk
Ms Maggie Leung
Dr Ng Yin-kwok
Ms Quby Tang Mei-yee
Ms Sandra Tsoi Lai-ha
Dr David Wong Sau-yan
Dr Hunter Yuen Kwok-lai
     The next meeting of the Working Group is scheduled in January 2013.

Ends/Monday, December 10, 2012
Issued at HKT 19:37