Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority

     The Government today (August 24) announced the appointment of Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin as Chairman and Ms Ruth Shek Yuk-yu as Deputy Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA).  In addition, the Government appointed three new members and re-appointed one member to the HKEAA. The appointments are for three years from September 1, 2012 to August 31, 2015. The appointment details are as follows:

Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin, Chairman, Pacific Falcon Investment Group Limited

Deputy Chairman
Ms Ruth Shek Yuk-yu, Principal, Ying Wa Girls' School

Mr Wong Ip-cheung, Principal, Tsuen Wan Government Secondary School
Dr Mak Chi-keung, Principal, Lok Sin Tong Young Ko Hsiao Lin Secondary School
Mr Tsang Wing-keung, Chief Executive Officer, Baptist Oi Kwan Social Service
Mr Patrick Chan Kwok-wai, Executive Director and Chief Financial Officer, Sun Hung Kai Properties Limited

     The HKEAA is a statutory body established under the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Ordinance (Chapter 261) to conduct public examinations and other examinations or assessments approved by the Chief Executive. The composition of the Authority is stipulated in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance. Members of the Authority include school principals, teachers, representatives of tertiary institutions, a person who represents the interests of parents, and persons experienced in commerce, industry or a profession.

     The Secretary for Education, Mr Eddie Ng, said that the HKEAA is an important partner of the Education Bureau and the distinguished members from educational and other professional fields would enrich the expertise of the Authority.

     Mr Ng welcomed Mr Chen and Ms Shek in serving as the Chairman and Deputy Chairman of HKEAA, and expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Deputy Chairman, Mr Stephen Hui Chin-yim, and the two outgoing members, Ms Theresa Tao Chee-ying and Dr Hung Kwok-wah, for their contribution to the Authority.

     Following is the membership list of the Authority with effect from September 1, 2012:

Appointed members:
Mr Rock Chen Chung-nin (Chairman)
Ms Ruth Shek Yuk-yu (Deputy Chairman)
Mr Wong Ip-cheung
Mr Liu Ah-chuen
Dr Mak Chi-keung
Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen
Dr Esther Ho Yuk-fan
Mr Huang Lester Garson
Mr Patrick Chan Kwok-wai
Mr Tsang Wing-keung
Ms Cecilia Lee Sau-wai

Ex-officio members:         
Two persons nominated by the Heads of Universities Committee
The Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, or his/her representative
The Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council, or his/her representative
The Permanent Secretary for Education, or his/her representative
The Secretary General of the HKEAA

Ends/Friday, August 24, 2012
Issued at HKT 14:01


Print this page