Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Committee on Implementation of Moral and National Education

     The Education Bureau (EDB) announced today (August 22) the setting up of the Committee on the Implementation of Moral and National Education to allay public concern over the Moral and National Education Curriculum.

     The EDB released in April this year the Moral and National Education Curriculum Guide. Schools may introduce the subject in a progressive manner as they will be provided with a three-year "initiation period" - from the 2012/13 school year to the 2014/15 school year for primary schools and from the 2013/14 school year to the 2015/16 school year for secondary schools.

     To ensure the attainment of the objective as stated in the Moral and National Education Curriculum Guide, the Committee will provide comments to the EDB on the implementation of the Moral and National Education Curriculum during the "initiation period". The objective of the curriculum guide is to nurture among students positive values as well as independent thinking and greater autonomy, in order to help them distinguish right from wrong and make informed decisions with caring and reasonable judgment, so that they will become committed members of their families, society, the motherland and the world.

     With wide participation from the community, the Committee will take the initiative to listen to the public's views on the preparation and implementation of the Moral and National Education Curriculum during the three-year "initiation period".

     The Committee will also take the initiative to review the learning and teaching resources on contemporary China developed by the EDB.

     Membership of the Committee is as follows:

     Ms Anna Wu Hung-yuk (Chairman of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority)

     Professor Lee Chack-fan (Chairperson of Ad Hoc Committee on Moral and National Education)


Representative of Curriculum Development Council:
     Ms Stella Yeung Po-wah (teacher)

Members of Ad Hoc Committee on Moral and National Education:
     Mr Tam Ping-yuen (school head)
     Ms Cheung Fuk-ying (teacher)

     Dr Gordon Tsui Luen-on (Chairperson of Committee on Home-School Co-operation)
     Ms Eva Chan Sik-chee (Convenor of Parents
Concern Group on National Education) (being invited)
     Mr Ho Chu-ping (Parent Member of Curriculum Development Council)
     An elected representative of the Federation of Parent-Teacher Associations

School Heads:
     Mr Liu Ah-chuen (Hong Kong Subsidized Secondary Schools Council)
     Mr Wong Wai-yu (Hong Kong Association of the Heads of Secondary Schools)
     Mr Sin Kim-wai (Subsidised Primary Schools Council)
     Mr Leung Siu-tong (Hong Kong Aided Primary School Heads Association)

Teachers from educational organisations:
     Teacher from Hong Kong Professional Teachers' Union (being invited)
     Teacher from Education Convergence (being invited)
     Mr Tang Fei (Hong Kong Federation of Education Workers)
     Ms Tse Siu-wah (Teacher from Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence Teachers Association)

     Professor Leung Yuen-sang (Dean of Faculty of Arts and Professor of History of the Chinese University of Hong Kong)

Students organisations:  
     Mr Joshua Wong Chi-fung (Convenor of Scholarism) (being invited)
     A youth group representative(being invited)

     Reverend Paul Tong Hin-sum
     Mr Dick Lee Ming-kwai
     Mr Lee Siu-hok

Representative of Education Bureau

Secretary: Principal Assistant Secretary for Education (Curriculum Development)

Ends/Wednesday, August 22, 2012
Issued at HKT 11:18


Print this page