Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Politically appointed officials advised on post-office employment

     The Advisory Committee on Post-office Employment for Former Chief Executives and Politically Appointed Officials has advised a number of politically appointed officials, upon their request, on their proposed employment after leaving the Government on July 1.

     These officials are the Director of the Chief Executive's Office, Professor Gabriel Leung; the Under Secretary for Education, Mr Kenneth Chen; the Political Assistant to the Financial Secretary, Mr Yip Kan-chuen; and the Political Assistant to the Secretary for Education, Mr Jeremy Young.

     The Advisory Committee advised Mr Chen and Mr Yip that their proposed employment would not cause any potential conflict of interest. The Advisory Committee also did not anticipate adverse public reaction or public perception problems arising from the proposed employment.

     The Advisory Committee advised Professor Leung and Mr Young the same provided that they observe certain restrictions with respect to bidding for some types of projects.

     In considering each case, the Advisory Committee had regard to the information provided by the politically appointed official concerned, the assessments by relevant government bureaux or offices, and the published criteria for advice as stipulated in the guidance note on post-office employment for politically appointed officials.

     In addition to advising the four politically appointed officials, the Advisory Committee also advised the Government on an application for post-office work by the Information Co-ordinator of the Chief Executive's Office, Mr Andy Ho.

     Mr Ho is an official under special appointment who will leave the Government on July 1 upon the expiry of his employment contract.

     The Advisory Committee advised that Mr Ho may take up the proposed work subject to certain restrictions. On the basis of this advice, the Government has approved the post-service work proposed by Mr Ho subject to those restrictions.

     Details of these cases are set out in the Annex and at the Advisory Committee's website (

     The membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Mr Moses Cheng Mo-chi (Chairman)
Dr Norman Leung Nai-pang
Dr Elizabeth Shing Shiu-ching
Mr Tim Lui Tim-leung
Professor Liu Pak-wai

Ends/Thursday, June 28, 2012
Issued at HKT 16:00


Print this page