Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Appointments to Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission

     The Government announced today (June 15) that the Chief Executive has appointed the Honourable Mr Justice Andrew Cheung and Mr Christopher Cheng as members of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission.

     The Chief Executive has also re-appointed the Honourable Mr Justice Roberto Alexandre Vieira Ribeiro as member of the Commission.

     "The three members will serve for a two-year term, starting from July 1, this year to June 30, 2014," a Government spokesman said.

     The Honourable Mr Justice Louis Tong and Dr Edgar Cheng, serving members of the Commission, will retire on June 30.

     "We wish to express our gratitude to the two outgoing members for their distinguished contributions to the work of the Commission over the past six years," the spokesman said.

     The function of the Judicial Officers Recommendation Commission is to advise or make recommendations to the Chief Executive regarding the filling of vacancies in judicial offices, representations from a judicial officer concerning conditions of service referred to it by the Chief Executive, and any matter affecting judicial officers which may be prescribed or which the Chief Executive may refer to it.

     Other members of the Commission are the Chief Justice of the Court of Final Appeal (ex-officio Chairman), the Secretary for Justice (ex-officio member), Mr Rimsky Yuen, Mr Wong Kwai-huen, Professor Joseph Sung and Mrs Eleanor Ling.

Ends/Friday, June 15, 2012
Issued at HKT 11:00


Print this page