Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Hong Kong and the Republic of Kazakhstan sign visa exemption agreement (with photos)

     The Secretary for Security, Mr Ambrose S K Lee, on behalf of the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR), today (May 9) signed the Agreement on Mutual Exemption of Visa Requirements with the Executive Secretary of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Mr Rapil S Zhoshybayev.

     The agreement provides visa-free access to HKSAR passport holders visiting the Republic of Kazakhstan for a stay of up to 14 days. Likewise, nationals of the Republic of Kazakhstan will also enjoy 14 days' visa-free access to Hong Kong.

     "The agreement will enter into force after completion of the required internal procedures of the Republic of Kazakhstan. The implementation date of the agreement will be separately announced," a spokesman for the Security Bureau said.

     "We welcome the signing of the agreement. This is a significant step forward for the travel convenience of Hong Kong travellers, which will help promote trade, business and tourism between the HKSAR and the Republic of Kazakhstan," he added.

     The availability of visa-free access to the Republic of Kazakhstan has brought the total number of countries/territories agreeing to grant visa-free access or visa-on-arrival to HKSAR passport holders to 145.

Ends/Wednesday, May 9, 2012
Issued at HKT 17:16


Photo Photo
Print this page