Appointments to Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council

     The Government today (February 29) announced the appointment of the chairman and members of the Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council for the new term commencing on March 1, 2012, for a period of one year.

     The Chief Executive, Mr Donald Tsang, has reappointed Dr Victor Fung as the chairman of the council. Another 40 members were also appointed, of which 11 were new appointees. Members come from a wide spectrum of sectors. Their rich experience in the respective business and professional sectors, together with extensive knowledge in Hong Kong and Guangdong co-operation and wide network of connections, will facilitate the council's work in promoting economic co-operation between the two places.

     The Chief Executive also thanked the chairman and members of the council for their remarkable service in the current term. In the past two years, the council had put forth highly constructive ideas in various areas of Hong Kong and Guangdong co-operation. In view of the extensive opportunities for Hong Kong arising from the National 12th Five-Year Plan and the series of measures announced by the Central Government in 2011 to support the social and economic development of Hong Kong, the Chief Executive hoped that the council would continue to leverage members' expertise and business experience in the Greater Pearl River Delta region to actively provide advice and suggestions to the Government, and to further strengthen co-operation between Hong Kong and Guangdong and sustainable development in the two places.

     The Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council was set up in March 2004 to advise the Chief Executive and to operate under the Hong Kong/Guangdong Co-operation Joint Conference to foster closer economic co-operation within the Greater Pearl River Delta region.

     The membership of the Greater Pearl River Delta Business Council (effective from March 1, 2012) is as follows:

Dr Victor Fung

Members (in alphabetical order)
Mr Andrew Brandler
Mr Chan Kin-por
Mr Ignatius Chan
Professor Anthony Cheung
Professor Ching Pak-chung *
Mr Andrew Fan
Mr Vincent Fang
Mr Eddy Fong *
Mr David Fong *
Mr Junius Ho
Mr Stanley Hui
Mr Michael Hui *
Mr Peter Hung
Mr Lester Lam
Professor Lam Kin-che
Mr Frederick Lam
Mr Stanley Lau *
Mr Anthony Lau
Professor Lawrence Lau
Mr Lau Ming-wai
Ms Wendy Law *
Mrs Margaret Leung *
Mrs Sophie Leung
Dr Donald Li *
Mr Li Wenyue
Mr David Lie-A-Cheong
Mr Alan Lo *
Mr Daryl Ng
Mrs Katherine Ngan *
Mr Ian Shiu
Mr Sin Chung-kai
Mr Cliff Sun
Mr Irons Sze
Dr Tai Tak-fung
Mr Alan Tung
Mr Harold Wong *
Mr Peter Wong
Mr Anthony Wu
Ms Marjorie Yang
Mr Yu Pang-chun

* New appointees in 2012

Ends/Wednesday, February 29, 2012
Issued at HKT 19:49