Traditional Chinese Simplified Chinese Email this article
Improvements to Qualifications Framework Support Schemes

     The Education Bureau announced today (August 1) improvements to the financial assistance schemes under the Hong Kong Qualifications Framework (QF), collectively known as the Qualifications Framework Support Schemes (QFSS).

     A spokesman for the Education Bureau said, "QF was launched in 2008 to promote lifelong learning, with a view to enhancing the competitiveness of our workforce. Though a relatively new concept to Hong Kong, QF has begun to gain recognition by the public and participation in QF has been on a steady rise."

     "We consider it timely to give a boost to QF, in order to upgrade Hong Kong's competitiveness in the rapidly changing global environment at a faster pace and to support the development of a diversified economy. We have therefore relaxed the operating parameters of QFSS, including the scopes, eligibility criteria and levels of assistance, to encourage more and better support education and training providers, the employees and the industries to join QF."

     With the improvements, QFSS will be open to all education and training providers for subsidy in seeking accreditation of their learning programmes. It will also cover subsequent accreditation exercises in addition to first-time exercises. The level of subsidy and ceiling per provider will be increased. In addition, the level of reimbursement of Recognition of Prior Learning assessment fees for employees will also be enhanced.

     To encourage the development of training courses that are relevant to the industries, a new one-off grant is introduced under QFSS to support developing courses based on the Specification of Competency Standards (SCS). These courses, which are based on standards devised by the industry, will best suit the need of the industry. Promotional workshops will be held on August 1 and 3 for the education and training providers and stakeholders of relevant industries to promote the development of SCS-based courses and the improvements of QFSS.

     QF is a seven-level hierarchy covering qualifications in the academic, vocational and continuing education sectors. It encourages lifelong learning by providing a comprehensive network of learning pathways, and enables individuals to pursue their goals according to their own roadmaps. Details of QF and QFSS are available at Information on qualifications and the respective learning programmes that have been quality assured and recognised under QF is available at the website of the Qualifications Register (

Ends/Monday, August 1, 2011
Issued at HKT 09:00


Print this page